Repost: Personal Devotions Series: Prophetic Challenge

Yet another repost … hope this one encourages you …

God told me a great way that I could stay on top of my personal devotions – blog about what He has said through his word!  So, I’ll start today and see what happens…

God has been stirring me this morning – I read 2 Chronicles 18:1-27, where the prophet Micaiah has prophesied not just Ahab’s death, but the method through which he would be lured to his death.

Context - The kings of Israel and Judah have allied through marriage, and want to go to war.   Ahab calls on his court prophets and asks them if he should attack Ramoth Gilead, but Jehosaphat wanted to hear from a ‘prophet of the Lord.’

What struck out to me was the fact that Micaiah was adamant that he would only say what God would have him say, even although everyone else was ‘prophesying’ success.  When I was reading this, the Lord said to me that a prophet’s job doesn’t make you popular….

The prophet tells the kings that he sees all Israel “like sheep without a shepherd” …. and then continues to tell them that the Lord has sent a lying spirit amongst the court prophets to lure Ahab to his death.

What struck out to me is that, although Ahab tries to act all macho by having Micaiah imprisoned ‘until [he] returns safely’,  he still went to war dressed in an ordinary soldier’s uniform as a disguise – and he still dies.  Did Ahab really trust the prophet, or was he being cautious? You know – ‘Just in case he was right….’?

The Lord was reminding me of a prophetic word that he gave to me – that I was one of his trumpets, sounding a clear clarion call to others…. To declare clearly, I must be able to stand up against opposition, no matter what.

Lord, help me to be like Micaiah – faithful to hear and report only what you say, and faithful to you and you alone, even if everyone else is saying something different….

One Response

  1. Praying for you, as He uses you in mighty ways. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

