Reminiscing – 3

I’ll tell you next how I came into the Baptism of the Holy Ghost.  Most of my close friends have heard this story already…. but I thought it was a great place to go with my reminiscing posts as it follows directly from the last one, where I was first exposed to tongues in Kingdom First International.

Anyway…

Anyone who’s been reading this blog for any length of time realizes that I’m prophetic.  However, I didn’t know it at the time of this story… I grew up without being taught at all about spiritual gifts, and so had never heard about the concept.  That being said, I found that whenever I would talk to the Lord, I would feel him respond: thoughts would enter my mind that were not my own, and that answered my questions or comments in such a loving and positive way that there was no way, in my mind, that this could be wrong.  In fact, I did not even contemplate the idea that Satan could be speaking – I had the faith of a child: I’m speaking to God, so he’s the one responding.

So, there was this one day during a weekend where I said to the Lord, “Lord, I’m bored. I want something to read!”  I immediately heard, “Ok. 1 Corinthians 12.”  Not ever having read that Scripture before, I immediately got out out the Bible and read up – “Now concerning spiritual gifts, brothers, I would not have you ignorant…”  I realized in a flash that the ‘gibberish’ that I heard at the church was actually tongues!  It also dawned on me in a flash, as I told God, “This tongues thing seems to be a more intimate way to speak to you!”  I excitedly said to God, “I WANT THAT!”

After finishing the chapter, I was all ready to do something else, but God had other plans.

“Go to chapter 13,” he commanded.  “Okay…” I responded.

Now this chapter I knew about – the love chapter!  But reading it in context with chapter 12… ‘Though I speak with the tongues of angels…. ” BAM! There’s tongues!  I had never noticed before, but chapter 13 deals with love as the undergirding reasoning behind using the gifts! wow!

I was trying to shut the Bible and get to doing something else, but again I heard the voice of the Lord: “I’m not finished yet. Go to chapter 14.”  Now I’m starting to get itchy for something else to do, so I complain: “L-o-ord! (drawn out complaining whine)  I wanna do something else!”  But again he said, “Go to chapter 14!”  And so I do.   That chapter deals with tongues and prophecy, and when I read Paul say, “Earnestly desire the best gifts…I would that you prophesy…” I said to the Lord, “If that’s in there, I want that TOO!”

So fast forward to a month later.  I’m in Sunday School.  The session is finishing, and the Sunday School superintendent is saying, “Let’s finish with the Lord’s prayer…. (unison) Our Father, who art in heaven…”  As I’m following her, I know I’m saying the Lord’s prayer, because that is what I’m forming in my mind and opening my mouth to say – but what comes out is some other tongue. I only recognize the last word, “AMEN.”  It took me a little while before it dawned on me, “You got it!”  And then I was running all around the room in excitement.  From there started my whirlwind adventure with the Lord!

5 Responses

  1. take me back to my first love!!! u just took me back to when I first encountered the Lord in a personal relationship before the relationship got bogged down in all sorts of stuff.

  2. yeah, the simplicity of it all, huh?

    It’s waaaay too easy to get bogged down in all sorts of stuff!

    Take us all back to that simplicity of our first love, Jesus!

  3. […] of the Reminiscing posts from last year.  For those who may want to read them, go here, here and here.  They detail how I got exposed to the Spirit’s work, and then baptised in the […]

  4. […] you about my first prophetic word. (Now I was hearing God’s voice before this – go back to my Reminiscing post on my Holy Spirit Baptism – but this is the first time I was actually in a prophetic role, as in having to give a message to […]

  5. […] but it has a deeper meaning. God was showing me that any gift (Tongues, Prophecy or any other) HAS to come out of LOVE – or else it is no use. THAT is the real test. Do you sense love or manipulation when you watch or interact with a person […]

Leave a Reply

