Are You a Threat?

Today’s devotional from Os Hillman’s email devotional Today God is First (TGIF) struck me in light of a prophetic word I had yesterday from one of my intercessors. In it, Os speaks of how it seemed as though his wife Angie was attacked in the spirit every time she went to travel on outreaches! This is the devotion:

Are You a Threat?
TGIF Today God Is First Volume 2, by Os Hillman
08-14-2008
“But I will tarry in Ephesus until Pentecost. For a great and effective door has opened to me, and there are many adversaries” (1 Cor 16:8-10).Angie and I entered the airport when suddenly she began to feel sick. “Honey, I don’t think I can go. I feel awful. I was fine driving down here,” she said. We stopped and prayed. She didn’t feel any better. She decided she would not go. Sadly we said goodbye to one another.About thirty minutes later I was sitting at the gate when Angie comes running up to me. “I am coming with you,” she said. “What happened?” I responded. “I asked the Lord if I was to go and He said ‘Yes.’ So, I am coming, despite the way I feel.”

We got onto the airplane and it was only a few minutes into the flight when she turned to me and said, “I feel fine now. I can’t believe how much better I feel.” Angie and I began to recognize a consistent pattern of this happening whenever we would go on our ministry trips. We have become increasingly aware of Paul’s admonition in Ephesians 6:12,13: “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

How big of a threat are you to the kingdom of darkness? If you are pushing back the kingdom of darkness, then chances are you will have opposition in your life. The apostle Paul realized that as doors became open to him, so too were the adversaries in the spiritual realm to his activities.

Today, realize you are in a physical and spiritual battle and put on the armor of God.

Although I am in Barbados and my intercessor is in South Africa, God is everywhere! While we were talking over MSN, she started to sense a demonic presence – in fact, she felt it was trying to pass from my life over to hers! After we talked, she prayed for me and commanded these evil spirits out of my life. I sensed them leaving even before we prayed! They could not leave fast enough: I was yawning and my eyes were running (two common manifestations of spirits leaving after being cast out) while we were speaking in tongues in preparation for her deliverance prayer. Again I was struck by the power of connection, where the power of agreement defies hundreds of miles of distance to see someone set free from demonic oppression without being physically present.

Afterward, the Lord used her to prophesy into my life. Below is the text of what she told me under inspiration of the Spirit:

The Lord says that I am your spiritual detector …………makes sense?

He says that the devil may try with you – but your intercessor here over in South Africa has your back

You need not be concerned about the ministry – just go ahead with whatever you have to do – He will clear out the way for you

He has prepared the way for you – just walk strong knowing that He is with you

Don’t ever doubt that

I have blessed you many gifts and as you require them they will be handed out to you – like if you need the gift of healing then it would be so – the gift of prophecy and so on and so forth

Just trust in me – tune your ears to my voice – audible voice

i will speak to you directly says the Lord

and you will make no mistake that its me

don’t major on minor things

like this spiritual battle – the enemy is just trying to throw you off course

i have taken care of it – i’ve given you your [spiritual] sister …….haven’t I?

Stand strong my faithful servant……………It will be well!

4 Responses

  1. This is KEY!1 as we step in to the dark Kingdom and free captives..who are we kidding if we think that the enemy will take it lying down..really we need to constantly EPH 6 ourselves…

    I am a threat to the dark kingdom and so are you my brother…knees to the floor..hands to the sky…and we are coming in! All in JEsus name…and the gates fall down..

  2. Love it: “Knees to the floor…. hands to the sky!”

    AMEN!

  3. I’ve wondered about the enemy pushing back, as you well describe it. Sometimes I do less than I’m capable of for the Kingdom because I’m afraid, even lazy. I don’t want to stir things up.

    How do you pray for yourself in order to move ahead without fear?

    • The same way you pray for others. Basically, the Bible says that God has not given us a SPIRIT of fear, but of love, power and a sound mind…. so firstly, fear is identified as a spiritual force. But it’s one that can be overcome.

      Yes, if you hit at the enemy, he will hit back. But that is no reason to be afraid of him. Because the Bible already gives us the answer as to who wins.

      Now, as to HOW to pray for yourself? I just be honest with God. Lord, I am shared spitless. But u know how to give me the courage I need. I know I’m in good company of others who were called and were scared – Moses, Gideon, Joshua, Jeremiah … so many were scared when u called them. But u are able to turn scared into sacred …. just by moving a letter. I pray that you make me less scared and more able to do your sacred work….

      (I started this as an example of prayer, but now I feel like I’m actually praying for you, so…gear change!) I pray for Linda now that you help her to be bold and courageous for you and your Kingdom according to the word you gave to Joshua … “Be bold and courageous! Have I not commanded you?” Release the spiritual boldness that she needs to get militant with the enemy and not be scared of repercussions … I didn’t say ignore them (you will give wisdom as well) but not be scared of them. Because YOU are still in control!

      Help her and expand the Kingdom of God through her – both in real life and through her blog! In Jesus’ name! AMEN.

Leave a Reply

