Love Is a Skill!

I think I’ll keep this up for a bit:  the Purpose Driven Life devotion for today is entitled: “Love is a Skill.”  That one I haven’t thought of – but I can see that is true:

Love is a skill that can be learned. In other words, it’s something you can get good at and that means you get better at love by practicing love.

 

You may think you’re a good lover, but God wants you to become a great lover, a skilled lover, a master lover. Yet, most people never learn how to love. You can become an expert at relationships.

 

Interesting concept huh? Practicing love.  This follows directly after the premise I wrote about yesterday – love is a choice, so you can actually practice it, and get better at it!  Wow! 

Wouldn’t you like to become known as a person of extraordinary love? When people speak of you they might say: “He doesn’t care who you are or what you look like.” “She doesn’t care where you’ve been or what you’ve done or where you’re from.”

 

I know that I’ve practiced loving people without even realizing it was a principle.  I deliberately try to see past what is placed before me in terms of attitude and stuff…  but I’m working at being more loving.  

The only way you get skilled at something is to practice. You do it over and over. The first time you do it, it feels awkward, but the more you do it, the better you become.

 

The same is true with love (1 John 4:7). Let’s practice loving each other. As the Bible says, “Practice these things; be committed to them, so that your progress may be evident to all” (1 Timothy 4:15 HCSB).

I concur with the conclusion.  So let me encourage you all: let’s all practice love and get good at it!  How do you think you can practice?

(BTW – To all my American family in the blogosphere: Happy Thanksgiving!… I’ve put it as a request on several of my friend’s blogs, and now I’ll put it on mine: We in Barbados don’t celebrate Thanksgiving as a national holiday, but I’m all open for some of the feast! So please fax, email or FedEx me some of the food!) 😉  😆  Turkey, anyone???? :mrgreen:

5 Responses

  1. Now THAT’s what i’m talkin’ ’bout! 😀

    Beautifully put.

    Like your country we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving Holiday so i can’t help you out with any Turkey or Cranberry , yet. We have to wait for Christmas time for that…Mmmmm – Turrkeeyyyyy! 😉 You are welcome to take as many copies of the Turkey on my blog as you like, if that helps? 🙂

    Nice Blog Theme btw – looks a little familiar? 🙂

    love,

    <B

  2. Great thoughts, Bajan! (Is that your name? Or your login? Whatever you prefer, just let me know.) I definitely need practice at love. Have you ever read The Five Love Languages? (Gary Chapman) I am not Acts of Service. My husband, however … it’s his first or second. Hard to tell. But he’s very high in it. Man. That takes practice and work. You are so right. I need lots of work.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my post! I’m always excited to see a new face. Barbados, huh? Wow! What’s the weather like down there? Wait. Don’t tell me. I’m in Minnesota. 🙂 Would you like a clock (at the bottom of my blog)? Are you on East Coast time? Am I asking too many questions? lol. Anyway. Glad to ‘meet’ you!

  3. Sorry, i did not answer your q at the end.

    The biggest obstacle to me loving as i should is that i allow myself to hate freely (stupid people, ignorant people, greedy people, people who show no consideration to others ( even those other than me! ) 😉 the list has been very long at times.

    I’m going to ‘catch’ myself whenever i show signs of this happening and turn it around, remembering that i have many times shown such signs in myself.

    I also need to find more reasons to love myself (maybe by remembering that As God loves me then so i must have some worth, more than i often feel inside, that is worthy of being loved and therefore am able to pass that love out to all others?)

    That last one is not an ego ‘i love me’ but a ‘i am worthy of His love and so is everyone else’ kind of love.

    I also think that many of us sometimes love someone more because of the feeling they get inside when they find that someone who shows them some kindness than for the truth about everything that makes up the object of their love.

    We need to love everything a person IS – not a made-up and ‘biased view’ of an image of that person we hold in our minds.

    Can anyone make sense out of that?? 🙂

    <B

  4. Annie – ‘Bajan’ is a local name for ‘Barbadian’, my nationality 🙂 and POET is self-explanatory… 😆 I’m all for you calling me Robert, but around Tam’s blog it might confuse ppl 😆 I see there’s a ‘Robert’ there already…. :mrgreen:

    I’d love to get a clock!

    I have no idea what time East Coast Time is :mrgreen: All I know is that right now, I’m an hour behind those who have to set their clocks back because of daylight savings time. When it’s 8 am in Florida (d.s.t) it is 7:00am in Barbados…

    The Five Love Languages? I read another book on the same topic: The Languages of Love – I forget the author… but I know they are different ways that ppl give and receive love…. I am definitely in the Giving category…
    +++++

    Love – Yeah, love the theme 😉 Pardon the pun 🙂

    That last one is not an ego ‘i love me’ but a ‘i am worthy of His love and so is everyone else’ kind of love.

    I agree – I had to learn to love myself and accept myself – which was hard dealing with under rejection issues… but God helped me… and it made me able to love others even more!

    I also think that many of us sometimes love someone more because of the feeling they get inside when they find that someone who shows them some kindness than for the truth about everything that makes up the object of their love.

    Wow…. uh…. lol I think I understand that one…. oh – is THIS the explanation….

    We need to love everything a person IS – not a made-up and ‘biased view’ of an image of that person we hold in our minds.

    I agree 100%
    ++++++++

    wow. This is a blog post all on it’s own … but I’m loving it! I wanted to get traffic for so long 🙂

    Keep it coming!!!!

  5. Bajan,

    not surprisingly, when were talking about love, you got what i meant perfectly (and that is not always easy – trust me!) 🙂

    None of us are ever perfect, so, if we are to love truly, we have to learn to love the imperfections in others also, or at least forgive them and not ‘hold’ it/them as something against someone.
    Many times we only look for the good in someone to love and our love may begin to ‘die’ when we begin to see the truth about a person – that they don’t fit our ‘perfect’ image of them.

    <B

Leave a Reply

