Called to be a Friend….

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up: To more than I can be.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up: To more than I can be….

(You Raise Me Up – Josh Groban)

The above is a portion of the song You Raise Me Up…. it is so inspiring!  Heard that when visiting my wife’s assembly on Sunday… and then I felt the Lord speak to me.  His manifest presence came over me with such intensity I fell to the floor, crying in tongues. (It was intense, but those who know me know that even a nudge from the Lord usually gets me in the same state :mrgreen: )  Anyway…

He reminded me where I had told a friend of mine recently “I am a friend first, and anything else after,” when she was going through something and was opening up slowly to reveal what was going on in her heart.  God used that song to speak to me about being a friend, an encouragement.  I saw it as a commission, actually… where God was calling me as a friend the same way he called me as a prophetic person or, more recently, into the deliverance ministry.  In fact, paraphrased, he said:

You are called to be a friend to others,  to give them permission to cry, to release…. and you are called to release them from their bondage.

I will edit this post later to get the exact words the Spirit whispered to me, but you get the idea.  So my new ‘title’ is ‘friend’  🙂   I will always remember what my friend told me – “It would be very difficult to open up to a deliverance minister – no offense – but much easier to open up to a friend.”  That was her response after I told her that I was her friend before anything else.  It’s my embodiment of love that I posted about last week.  Love is an action … must be worked out practically.  Love is a habit – you have to make it such a part of you that you love without effort.  Love is a decision – you have to choose to love… not an emotion or something that you can fall into and out of!

So my encouragement is that you are all called to be friends – to come alongside the hurting, to give permission to release all the pent up emotions and pain that no one told them they could let go of, and then to restore them into God’s will for their lives!  Does this sound plausible?

4 Responses

  1. I love the song you posted! I had to sing it while reading it..LOL glad you couldn’t hear me!! What God speaks to ones heart via the Holy Spirit, no other can contend with. Do you know what I mean? It may be a word just for you. I believe God has called you, and I believe you make the enemy nervous and angry while in the dark kingdom! I say lets shake him up a bit in the holy name of JESUS. 😉

    ( I will be writing for that other thing we talked about..later this evening..will let you know when its up)

  2. lol Could imagine you singing away, princess 🙂

    I know it’s just a word for me…but based on God’s Scriptures, we’re all called to ‘bind up the brokenhearted’ (Isaiah 61)

    I agree with you, 100% … LET’S DO SOME SHAKING!!!

    (Thanks for the update… I’m looking forward to the other post!)

  3. I love the way you’ve turned this study into practical action for yourself. That is incredible. Definitely an example. And I think ‘friend’ is an excellent title. 🙂

  4. Annie – I certainly realize that’s what the Holy Spirit did! I honestly had NO idea it was coming like that when I went into the sanctuary on Sunday… God is just ….*wanders into speechless abandon*

    Yeah – I like that title too lol Business cards coming in 2 weeks…. ‘BajanPOET: Heaven Certified Friend” 😉 😆

Leave a Reply

