Always Be Prepared!

pre·pare      (prĭ-pâr’)  Pronunciation Key     

v.   pre·paredpre·par·ingpre·pares   

v.   tr. 

  1. To make ready beforehand for a specific purpose, as for an event or occasion: The teacher prepared the students for the exams.
  2. To put together or make by combining various elements or ingredients; manufacture or compound: prepared a meal; prepared the lecture.
  3. To fit out; equip: prepared the ship for an arctic expedition.
  4. Music To lead up to and soften (a dissonance or its impact) by means of preparation.

v.   intr. 

  1. To make things or oneself ready.
  2. To study or complete a course of study at a preparatory school.

[Middle English preparen, from Old French preparer, from Latinpraeparāre : prae-pre- + parāreprepare, equip; see perə-1 in Indo-European roots.] 

pre·par’ed·ly (-pâr’ĭd-lē) adv.pre·par’er n. 

Preparation.  The act of being prepared. The act of making something ready beforehand.

Being prepared is important.

Let me share a supernatural story with you – which is humurous, but illustrates the point.

“Once upon a time, while I was in college, my friends and I were praying for this person who was demonized.  Since I had done some reading up on deliverance, I had known that I could command the demons to identify themselves in the name of Jesus.  So, being ready to practice, I commanded the demons in this person to identify themselves.   I was surprised when a whole list of demons identified themselves one after the other.  It surprised me so much that I stopped to think, “Wow, that’s cool.”  Hwever, when I was ready to cast them out – I had forgotten to write down the list! I couldn’t remember their names!  Watch me: “I have forgotten to write your names down! I command you to identify yourselves again!”   I wasn’t sure if it was the person who I was praying for,  or the demons themselves… but the look I got was, “Boy, what are you doing?  You aren’t ready yet!””

Always remember: be prepared. )

One Response

  1. Just a disclaimer: This was early in my adventure with Christ! 😆 I’m not that disorganized (all the time…) 😆

Leave a Reply

