Transition!

The Princeton web definition of transition is as follows:

  • passage: the act of passing from one state or place to the next
  • conversion: an event that results in a transformation
  • a change from one place or state or subject or stage to another
  • cause to convert or undergo a transition; “the company had to transition the old practices to modern technology”
  • a musical passage moving from one key to another
  • make or undergo a transition (from one state or system to another); “The airline transitioned to more fuel-efficient jets”; “The adagio transitioned into an allegro”
  • a passage that connects a topic to one that follows 
    wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

For a while now, the word ‘transition’ has been sitting in my spirit, and I’ve been asking the Lord to elaborate.  A lot of noise has been made over 2008 being the year of new beginnings.  As I have let this word marinade in my heart, I have constantly been brought back to the Scripture verse 2 Corinthians 5:17, which says

 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

 I declare that the New Year is a year of transition, from the old to the new!  Whatever new beginnings have been spoken over our lives, we will not walk into the fullness of it right away.  Thus, we are being called into transition.  The transition period is being spoken of by prophetic voices across the internet – I have deliberately not read them yet, preferring to listen to the Lord myself first. 

 I believe that the Lord had us in transition mode from the beginning of the year of 2008 – the change of government in Barbados early in 2008  might not rub some of the political pundits well, but it can be seen in the light of change.  In one sense, transition was prophesied by the entire country as they rallied behind the now ruling government’s constant call for change.  The ‘wind of change’ blew through several Caribbean countries, with several changing governments during the different election seasons within the region.

 Transition is the process of going from one place or state to another, as above. It is a process, not an event; it takes time and effort.  The New Year speaks to the process of walking out prophetic destiny on every level – individual and corporate.

 Be warned that this season is not going to be an easy one – almost all change is difficult.  For some the pressure started in 2008, for others it has delayed, but will come in 2009.  Take heart that God knows exactly where you are, and what you are going through. It is a time of pruning, of refocusing. As my wife said during our prayer time this morning, it is a time where old things have to be stripped away to make way for the new.

 In the Fellowship of the Rings (the first installment of the Lord of the Rings trilogy), the wise wizard Gandalf had to face his fear of the “deep dark of Moria” and the evil that was there.  He was forced to confront the demon Balrog to protect the others, and seemed to fall to his death while protecting them.  It was painful for the others – especially the hobbits – to lose such a great friend.  The loss of Gandalf also forced the others to grow as well. They had to mature quickly when their leader fell.

However, it was revealed in the beginning of the second installment (The Two Towers) that, having faced and defeated his enemy, Gandalf went through a transformation and came back stronger, and with more power.

 The same transformation is available to all of us.  I implore us all to take what the Lord is saying to heart: allow this painful process to shape us and allow the transition to have its full work in us, so that, like Gandalf, we will come out with greater power and walking in the destiny that we have embedded within us.  We all have our particular ‘enemy’ to overcome, and ultimately have to defeat the Enemy himself – Satan – with God’s help.

 “This is what the LORD says— he who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”- Isaiah 43:16, 18-19

3 Responses

  1. We all have our particular ‘enemy’ to overcome, and ultimately have to defeat the Enemy himself – Satan – with God’s help.

    To my mind the greatest enemy we have to overcome is the ‘old’ self life. It is our ‘old’ self serving and self seeking that confronts us with the greatest challenges.

    Let us remember also that the Adversary (Satan) is already defeated by Christ; thus we also who constitute His Body the Church through the born from above life have already overcome that foe.

    In saying this I’m not seeking to diminish the validity of the fact that what we have positionally (in Christ) must become incarnational and fleshed out experientially in the present time.

    I’m simply seeking to encourage us to Cross examine the witness in the docks at this time. That witness is a word/fragment concerning ‘transitoning’. And indeed it is a useful and timely word now as at any other time.

    Another fragment/contribution for our mutual edification and encouragement is that as we keep Christ and His cross before us, in this time of transitioning as in all others, we in Him by the Spirit will be endued with the grace to take up our own crosses daily, and therein and thereby realize the mastery of our old selves.

    This word/fragment about the cross goes together with this word/fragment from Romans 12:2 Be ye transformed (metamorphosed) by the renewing of your mind.

    That is to be taken together with this fragment from 2 Corinthians 3:18 And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

    I love that you use the symbolism of the Butterfly on your page Robert. Its a constant reminder to us of the putting off of the caterpilar life that we must always be undergoing as we are being transformed into His likeness ever increasingly, evermore gloriously.

    May the Lord Himself be our abiding life as we face the death of all that is shakeable and passing away in these glorious (even if perilous) days.

    And in closing a little unveiling of myself to you brethren… It feels as though I’ve been facing the death of major personal aspiration and dream within the last year and a half or so. One grows to accept that fantasies are just that and really nothing to let go of in the face of reality. But when it comes to our dreams, aspirations… that is a different matter.

    What our own God given potential tells us is achieveable is very hard to let go of. We struggle and stive to bring it to fruition, to bring it to pass. Doors seem to open then shut, hope sems to loom large, the possibilities present themselves and then…nothing.

    Some who know me best know my passion for music, for the arts generally. Well I’m quite exhausted, frustrated with waiting for the ‘big break’ to come where I make the right contacts and things begin to come together.

    As I become more and more absorbed with family life, with being a husband, co-parenting our son, earning a living and all the sometimes wonderful, too often exhausting (nowadays) rest of it, the dream is fading/dying.

    Rather unfairly (I think) I’m looking at our son from time to time and wondering…. “who knows maybe in him it will all come together…all the potential will be realized.” That’s unfair to him in my thinking because he should be free from my dreams to discover and live his own.

    So anyway, that’s the funk,the valley I visit fro time to time. Sometimes; and this is the worst part of, I feel as though i would’nt even mind leaving that valley unburdened of the Gift that fuels my dreaming, thinking about what could be.

    My ‘Balrog’ in this instance is actually a fear of never amounting to anything as far as my stewardship of this ‘Gift’ is concerned.

    In light of this therefore I covet your prayer support for my singing/songwriting career and encouragement to step out again despite the repeated disappointments and setbacks.

    Anyone out there who knows how agonizing and annoying knowing you’ve got something to share with the world BUT it just does’nt ever seem to be coming together feels or worse at times looks like it BUT then fades feels lemme hear from you.

    In Christ

    ‘Highs n Lows.

    • Let us remember also that the Adversary (Satan) is already defeated by Christ; thus we also who constitute His Body the Church through the born from above life have already overcome that foe

      True word, man, true word…. Satan’s already defeated. We need to overcome our selves, because once that is done, Satan will have nothing on us, just like he didn’t have anything on Jesus….

      Another fragment/contribution for our mutual edification and encouragement is that as we keep Christ and His cross before us, in this time of transitioning as in all others, we in Him by the Spirit will be endued with the grace to take up our own crosses daily, and therein and thereby realize the mastery of our old selves.

      This word/fragment about the cross goes together with this word/fragment from Romans 12:2 Be ye transformed (metamorphosed) by the renewing of your mind.

      Again, good word. I’ve been praying around that renewal of my mind theme yesterday, as I don’t want to bring ‘New Year’s resolutions’ to the table; I want a transformed life!

      Man, I feel you about the increasing responsibilities… I have more and more responsibilities raising my boys and at work, and in the midst of this what God has called me to in terms of my gifts will increase and is increasing as well… I can really relate to feeling swamped!

      Now, about the death of dreams…

      I feel your pain and frustrations in your words, brother. I’ll pray. My limited advice would be to give it over to the Lord and rest a while. I have picked up through what you have said that you have been working, you have been striving…. but I’d say, even from a prophetic standpoint, Psalm 46:10 says “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” I think that you should try to find time to rest in God’s presence and just ask him to refresh you.

  2. So … I don’t know ‘strange’ and ‘funny’ don’t seem to be the right words … that you should write on this. Read my blog tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

