Happy New Year….. and I fed a beggar!

First, let me wish all of you reading a very happy New Year – may your baskets be full and may the Lord meet you all at the point of your need so you can truly know him as Jehovah Jireh!

I spent the majority of my day today cleaning up the kitchen.  With two small boys, cleaning is something that is done constantly.  If you let it, the constant cycle of tidy-dirty-tidy-dirty can wear you down…. I’m here at 10:21 pm and the house is finally quiet.  Now, if I can just get everything I need to do online done quickly so that I can go to bed and get ready for work tomorrow…..

Does anybody remember the beggar that I turned away on Christmas Eve?  Well, he came back today.  I was trying to get to the clinic with my younger son when he approached me, again asking for money.  He said he had to get something to eat before taking his medication, and he hadn’t eaten all day.  I decided to ask him if he wanted something to eat, as we couldn’t afford to give him any money – he said yes!  So, as I asked Lesanne to prepare a sandwich for him, the guy and I talked a little bit.  First, he told me his name was Neville. (He told me the last name, too, but it’s late… I’ve forgotten it!)  He told me that he used to work at our national hospital for about 25 years, but he had a nervous breakdown.  He also told me he used to be married – and he was married for 15 years before his divorce.  To something he said, I commented, “God is good.” and he asked if I was a Christian, to which I replied, “Yes.”

So, I have a name and some sort of initial contact.  He understands my reluctance to give money, and he even said to me, “You’re a cool fella.”  He even remembered that I was into computers, although I can’t remember ever telling him that; he said that I had told him…. wow.

So, there we have it.  I’m hoping that this connection will ultimately lead to Neville being helped off the path he’s in and being in a position to help at the right time.   I didn’t do it (help him) out of a sense of trying to get back on Somebody’s good side after pushing them away; Neville really does seem to need a friend, and Jesus went out of his way to be available to those who were traditionally scorned.

Pray for me, that my family is used to shine the light of Christ into Neville’s heart.

Pray for Neville, that the assistance we give will not be taken for granted.

Pray that God works on my heart to soften it towards his plight and not only give him things, but ultimately point him towards Christ as the Saviour.

Pray that God’s name be glorified through this! “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’ (Matt 25:40)

4 Responses

  1. GOD SPOT! GOD SPOT! GOD SPOT!

    It won’t surprise me if you never see him again. God is like that.

    There is the story of a man and son. The son asks his Dad to take him to “Toy’rUs” to buy a toy for his birthday. The dad is too busy. The son keeps after him. Finally, wearing him down and the dad relents to take his son toy shopping.

    The son gets his toy and looks up at his father. He says, “Thanks dad. Maybe next time, you will enjoy it!”

    God bless Bajan!

  2. Amen, Archie! That’s a ‘God spot’ if I ever saw one 😆

    We’ll see if I see him again… I’ll try to keep shining Christ’s life onto him if we do keep bumping into each other.

  3. Yeah!

  4. As a rule I never give cash.

Leave a Reply

