Calling and Being a Priest….

I was reading this post at Kingdom Grace entitled “Calling

Here is the comment from Jerry who was replying to Grace’s post. In part, he said:

Every believer should wear the collar for a year, daily. There is a sacredness to being a believer that most feel is reserved for the clergy.

I never grew up Catholic and just about a year ago someone explained to me what a “parish” was. I thought it was a church building for some reason – but instead, its a geographical area. It hit me like a ton of bricks. What if I saw myself “priest” over this little geographical area the Lord had placed me in. How would I love and assist those around me? Could that area be some place I could bring the kingdom of God into? Hasn’t the Lord made me the priest of my workplace? Hasn’t the Lord made me the priest in my neighborhood?

I was stopped in my tracks by the realization – a ‘parish’ is a geographical area.  I never knew that! Like Jerry did, I somehow thought it was a building…. even although I’ve seen priests work hard out ‘on the field’.  As Jerry asked,  “What if I saw myself “priest” over this little geographical area the Lord had placed me in?”

What is your parish?  What ‘geographical area’ is your parish?  (May I stretch the definition of ‘geographical’ to not just mean physical location, but ‘area of influence’ – online as well as offline? Why of course you may! It is your blog, after all…. 😆 )

4 Responses

  1. Great thought! The idea of a parish fits well with our concept of a “Life Group” and the design for the LG to feel and operate like family. There are some things other religions do right. It may not lead to eternal life with our Father, but the effort is there.

  2. I agree, Archie!

    How does your Life Group operate? How does it ‘flesh out’ the community impact of a ‘parish’?

  3. I never thought of applying ‘parish’ to my personal life. Interesting thought! My friend is a missionary, and his slogan is, “The World is our Parish.” Good thought.

  4. Yeah, Annie….

    “The world is our parish”

    I like that.

Leave a Reply

