Deliverance – The Process

This is part 4 of my “Deliverance Foundations” series.

In this, the final post of this series, I want to discuss the process of deliverance in my own ministry, and show an actual deliverance that happened just a couple days ago online as a case study.

Let me start off by saying that the Lord works specifically through different deliverance ministries in different ways.  Some lay hands, some ask the people who want prayer to go through a questionnaire, others just go at it in faith and trust the Spirit to lead them – they’re all valid!

I’ve realized in my experience and study on deliverance that there are basically three steps to deliverance … all of the different ministries tackle them in different ways, but they form a definite pattern:

  1. Identification  – Identifying weak areas, sins or patterns of behaviour that need to be removed.  Different ministries call them different things, but all seek to isolate the problem in some manner.
  2. Renunciation – Somehow, every single deliverance ministry that I know lets the person being prayed for renounce their involvement in or somehow separate themselves from the sin and other things identified in step one above.
  3. Expulsion – This is where the demonic elements are removed.  Different ministers employ different methods, but the resuts sought are the same: freedom.

In the last post, we discussed open doors and strongholds.  In my training – which came from Drs. Paul and Claire Hollis of Warfare Plus Ministries in Tampa, we identify seven open doors that are typically used by demons to gain entry into a person’s life:  unforgiveness, the occult, sexual sin, ungodly soul ties, broken covenants or vows, pride, idolatry or unconfessed sin.  During a planned session, I usually allow the person being prayed for some time to identify any areas in their lives affected by any of these open doors.  We go through a prayer of proclamation, where each area is specifically renounced, and then we go through deliverance prayer.  Another area of identification before we pray is any area in their lives where they are experiencing or have ever experienced things such as pride, fear, depression, suicidal thoughts, or anything else that is highlighted by the Holy Spirit as a stronghold.  We deal actively with everything highlighted, and that usually takes about 2 and a half hours.  Afterwards, the person requesting prayer usually feels free of the demonic oppression, and usually comments that they feel ‘light’. 

For more information, contact Drs. Paul and Claire Hollis for more information by clicking the link to their website above. 

I don’t always follow that model – although I usually do.  I have found that the power of the Lord is evident while I am in Internet chat coversations with others as well, and, under direction by the Holy Spirit, I have led people into freedom by typing on the screen!  I’ve joked that I realize that demons can read as well as speak, but in all seriousness, God is present wherever the person requesting prayer is, and is not limited by space and distance.

Below is part of a Gmail conversation I have had recently with a friend of mine.  Names have been changed, but you can read through how certain open doors were identified, and how I led my friend to renounce them before taking authority in the name of Jesus.

Bev: yes he came back trying to come back with me
 that part i don’t know if it was flesh-cos ppl keep saying he will come back and my flesh likes idea of revenge
  but he is under a curse
  that was clearly shown
  and its been proven that it is correct
 me: yeah
Bev: his mom cursed him
  and his dad also
 me: his dad too?
Bev: yes
 b4 he was born
 me: what????
  wow
 Bev: yeah his mom told me in 05
 she said never to tell him
  and he keeps stressing- i am going to make it
  i told him he has hurt a lot of ppl
  a lot
 me: wow
  but if he doesn’t know he won’t get free of it
 My friend mentioned that her estranged husband was under a curse.  I asked for more details before we prayed.  
me I still haven’t gotten over the fact that he was cursed by his parents…. do you have any details about that curse? You might have told me before, but I forgot. I want to know details because I want to specifically break them off your life as well
Bev: amen
  his dad despised him cos he lost another son who died
  so he didn’t want another son and never did anything for Tom or cared about him his whole life
then his mom straight out said nothing will be good for him cos he turned his back on his daughter to marry me
 he had another daughter with another woman
this child was already with adoptive parents
  i told him that the 2 he had already were a lot to care for since he had no income coming in(i was correct)
  how much more 3
  now if he had been smart he’d have given all 3 girls to his mother(thats what she wanted anyhow) but no
he didn’t want guilt from his mom about 2 girls
  so he let the adoptive parents keep that daughter
  and then brought these 2 to our home where he never cared or provided for them
Here’s where I felt the urgency to pray for my friend right then, although we were planning to have a deliverance session in a couple weeks time. 
 me: I can’t wait until we have our session Bev. Repeat after me: I renounce and cut off any soul ties btw me and Tom. I categorically reject the lies spoken over me by him and his family.
I cut off any soul ties connecting me and Tom
 Bev: i renounce all soul ties between me and Tom
  i cut off all soul ties between me and Tom
 me: specifically rejecting the curses spoken over him by his parents
Bev: i renounce all the lies spoken over me by his parents
  i reject the curses spoken over him by his parents from affecting our child Jnr
I led her to start to forgive – in faith and as an act of her will – thus preventing the devil from using unforgiveness as a legal access to her soul.
 me I decide RIGHT NOW to forgive without reservation
Tom, his parents and my parents
  I choose to forgive with my free will
  I do not hold anything against them and release them to you, Oh God
Bev: i decide right now to forgive without reservation Tom, his parents, my parents
  i don’t hold anything against them
  i release them all to you Lord
Here I started to pray:
me: I’ll pray now…
Right now I break off all demonic attachments and all emotional attachments towards Tom from off of Bev’s life right now
 Bev: amen
 me: and severing all connections in the spirit between Tom and Junior in Jesus name
 Bev: amen
me: I come against every demonic spirit that came into her life because of this demonic control
Bev: amen
 me: and break off their legal right
  no more access, in Jesus name
 Bev: amen
 me: I put a Jesus Christ bloodline around Bev right now
 Bev: halleluya
me: and command every spirit connected to judgement, unforgiveness, infedelity, adultery, fornication, depression, not getting ahead in life, being hindered, financial troubles, pride and heaviness off her life right now
I command u to leave her right now
I release mighty warring angels to fight over her right now and take these spirits off her life
Bev: amen
  halleluya
  oh God thank u
  freedom
  thank u
I break to ask how she’s feeling – if she’s feeling any release while we are going through our session.  My reference to my hands is just letting her know that I can still feel the presence of the Lord’s power via a warmth in my palms, which I usually get when I’m about to lay hands on someone (virtually, in this case….)
 me: how are you feeling?
 my hands are still hot
Bev: lighter
  amen
I command any demons in the area to go to dry places according to Matt 12: 43 (KV) which states “When the unclean spirit is gone out of a man, he walketh through dry places, seeking rest, and findeth none.”
me: In the name of Jesus I rebuke every spirit that is hovering near her right now, looking for a reentry point. I seal every area of her life right now by the blood of Jesus
 I command them all to go to dry and uninhabited places right now
Sensing more demons around, I continue: 
 There are more:
 Fear, leave now!
Bev: amen
  fear leave
  worry leave
 me: in Jesus’ name
  spirit of anxiety, u have no place
  depression u have no place
  suicide u have no place
  not wanting to live, I rebuke u as satanic. Get out!
 hatred, I command you to leave right now – hatred, loathing, murder, violence, revenge
  (my hands are trembling as I type… tingling)
I bind every spirit I have identified
  and command them to loose her NOW in Jesus’ name
 Bev: amen
While watching a teaching on deliverance by the later Derek Prince, he mentioned that spirit, breath and air are the same word in both Hebrew (ruach) and Greek (pneuma).  He encouraged the people seeking deliverance to forcibly expel the demons out of their bodies by blowing out deliberately in faith.  I have seen that once people start doing that, they find that they yawn, cough, spit up, vomit, or exhibit some other manifestation of the evil spirit leaving.  I employ that here.
 me: I want u to blow out in faith, like I showed u… u might feel some leave through yawns like before
Bev: just did
goose bumps all over me [too]
me: In the name of Jesus! I command every lingering spirit to leave now! No stragglers! In the name of Jesus!
  Let the blood of Jesus be applied to every area of Bev’s mind (conscious, unconscious, subconscious)
cleanse every memory
  heal every hurt
  close every door
  in the name of Jesus
  seal each doorpost with the blood
  so that the “death angel” will pass over – so that the demonic will pass over and not find a place to rest
  Keep blowing out, my dear
 Bev: amen
I start praying for her son here as well.  As he is her child, she has spiritual oversight over him.  I learned this at Warfare Plus, and at first it sounded weird to me, but praying the evil spirits out of the child through the parent who is being ministered to works, in my experience.
me: May the blood of Jesus be applied to her son and his life
  I rebuke every spirit of disobedience lingering in his life
  may any spirits within him leave through Bev’s mouth right now
  In the name of Jesus
  spirits of depression
 sadness
  hurt
  anger
  pain
  Spirits sent to steal his joy
in the name of Jesus every spirit that doesn’t follow the name of Jesus – every spirit destined to the pit – be removed from Junior’s mind and soul right now in Jesus’ name
When I asked her what was happening she said:
Bev: anger is going away
  mind clearer
me:  I just had an urgency to pray right then
  I still want to go through the whole process to make sure all your open doors are closed
 Bev: ok
  it was urgent
 my spirit was vexed and disturbed
  especially since his family doesn’t wish well
 me: did u sense anything leave when I prayed for Junior?
Bev: yes
  i had goosebumps
This incident happened just this week, and is only one of the many times I have prayed for people online and seen God move -it’s always an awesome thing for me to see and experience.
I will take one more post to address one of the comments I had on this series, where there might be an apparent misunderstanding or confusion concerning the illustrations I use in this teaching.  However, I hope that this series was informative, and I encourage comments, questions and serious seeking after the Giver of Truth for all of us, so that questions can be answered and revelations given out of the light of Scripture and the Holy Spirit’s leading. 
14 Responses

  1. […] Deliverance – The Process […]

Leave a Reply

