Deliverance – Epilogue

I want to end this series by thanking all of you who have followed my journey throughout the Bible and my experience with the deliverance ministry.  Wow!  A simple answer to a question it was not!  I am grateful to all you new people who have joined my quest as I have been combing the Scripture and sharing parts of my ministry with you.

I want to use this last post in this series to clear up any misunderstandings that might have popped up by the use of some of my illustrations.  In my first post, I used a couple illustrations that I got from my training at New Beginnings Fellowship and Warfare Plus Ministries headed up, as I said, by Drs. Paul and Claire Hollis.  One of my readers, Love,  posed this concern:

I felt the ’sin’ being the ‘centre’ of Man in the first depiction then it being ‘replaced exactly by Holy Spirit – sort of in exactly the same place is a little confusing ( to me at least) I see sin and the human flesh being inseperable and a holy place being needed to accept the Spirit which will also accomodate our human awareness.

Now … to refresh our memories the images were representing the Triune nature of man (body, soul and spirit) and the two images are below

The three parts of man

The three parts of man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

born-again-man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He cited a potential confusion with how the illustration removed the ‘sin’ and replaced it exactly with the Holy Spirit’.  He continues:

In the same way we expand our intelligence and thought ‘capacity’ i see a growing human being able to expand their ’spiritual residence’, but this being done not by our will alone but our desire requesting it and working towards it while the Spirit of Christ is the ‘Creator’ of it for us who truly will it to be so.

He expands his point further:

I see this not so much ‘contained’ within our body as is sin and soul but extending beyond it and the physical body being ‘contained’ within it – if they are both operating on the same ‘level’?? Can Spirit and flesh both operate in one level/dimension together? or is Spirit always on a ‘Higher’ plane and merely is able to ‘guide’ the physical acts of our body?

I always welcome comments and observations.  Thank you, Love, for your concern – I welcome your input, always!  For me, the illustration merely shows on a basic level that the Spirit of the Lord indwells a new believer, where before he was ‘ruled’ by his sin nature before conversion.

Your concerns are on a deeper level – and are very valid.  Of course, our walk with the Lord is a daily, lifelong experience.  We can never truly separate sin from our flesh, and although the Spirit of the Lord indwells us we still need His  guidance.  I mean, free will has to come into play, right?  Many times I have been prompted by the Lord that I was not to do a certain thing that would lead to sin, but my flesh (will, desires) tempted me and I decided to follow that – obviously to my detriment.

 In  no way do I think these illustrations diminish the need for personal accountability and asking the Spirit to assist. Like I say, I think that they are on a basic level rather than a deep profound one.  

What do you all think?

8 Responses

  1. I think you’re probably right, the diagrams are a simple representation of us, but there are deeper or different ways to look at it. You’ve been brave to take on this subject and to try to explain it! I think you’re doing a great job! jenny

  2. Hi Bajan. Thanks for stopping by at my site. It was nice to see you! And then you said such nice things. I hope you are well. 🙂

  3. Great illustrations. Limitations always exist when trying to use 2 dimensional objects to explain an unlimited dimensional God. 🙂

  4. I didn’t read ahead so didn’t know this was the last post on deliverance. I think you did an awesome job of sharing what you believe. It is a complicated subject that likely will not be fully understood until we sit at the feet of Jesus.

    I think it can be summed up as we all sin. The source of that sin can be from many different places. Sometimes, that sin can be in the form of direct demonic influences. When its demons, only God can make them flee.

    Many times we do things out of stupidity that we like to blame on demons. It is man’s nature to not take ownership of his own actions. It is easier to blame someone else.

    Still other times, we do things out of the adamic nature of sin itself. We are not perfect. Our very makeup is flawed with the effect of thousands of years of sin. Chemically, our bodies can become physiologically dependent. It is a chemical thing that goes on. Maybe emotional thing as well. It is not direct demonic possession it is the inherited sin we get because of Adam and our heritage.

    Sometimes, God chooses to intervene and make things perfect in an area of addiction. ie instantly delivered from the addiction. I think mostly this is not due to direct demonic possession, just because of who we are. God either chooses to make the difference or not.

    That doesn’t rule out direct demonic influence, just in my experience it seems to be God creating perfection in a flawed body.

    I have some more thoughts, but am running to take pictures for our baby dedication at church.

    THANK YOU! This has been incredibly enlighting. I think the only conflict we have is “location”. We both might pray on the issue. God bless. Keep running…
    archie

    Definitely a “God Spot” here!

    • “I think it can be summed up as we all sin. The source of that sin can be from many different places. Sometimes, that sin can be in the form of direct demonic influences. When its demons, only God can make them flee.”

      Agreed. Only God has the ability to make them flee. Whatever I or anyone else speaking about deliverance does, it is only at the Name of Jesus that these foul entities are routed….

      “Many times we do things out of stupidity that we like to blame on demons. It is man’s nature to not take ownership of his own actions. It is easier to blame someone else.”
      That’s true. No argument there. Man’s stupidity leads to sin, which by itself is not demonic activity. In my experience, demons feed on the sin and tempt the man to further sin, which gives them more access, and tempts him to more, which brings more ….. it’s a vicious cycle that ultimately leads to destruction. There is something to be said for the man who is hopelessly bound by sins that he doesn’t want to do, but feels a compulsion to do – even when he is resisting. It is then that the demonic is most easily seen. In my articles, I mention the ‘open doors’… the first giving into temptation gives the demonic an open door, and it then exploits that access to get more and more of the person’s life under its control.

      “Still other times, we do things out of the adamic nature of sin itself. We are not perfect. Our very makeup is flawed with the effect of thousands of years of sin. Chemically, our bodies can become physiologically dependent. It is a chemical thing that goes on. Maybe emotional thing as well. It is not direct demonic possession it is the inherited sin we get because of Adam and our heritage.”
      Again, no argument there. I see a difference btw demonic possession and adamic sin. Sin is our ‘natural’ thinking… but our adamic nature can be influenced by outside forces, natural and demonic. As I said above, direct demonic influence isn’t the beginning – it is the desired end point – “The enemy comes to steal kill and destroy….”

      “THANK YOU! This has been incredibly enlighting. I think the only conflict we have is “location”. We both might pray on the issue. God bless. Keep running…
      archie”
      Yeah I agree… we are seeing different sides of the same coin.

      Maybe ‘soul’ might not be an adequate description … as I mentioned earlier, maybe as Luke 11 dictates, we can agree that the spirit may influence/live in/whatever his body…

      A Christian will, if falling to temptation, allow certain areas of his or her life to be more easily impacted or influenced by the demonic. This is what the ministry of deliverance ultimately is, getting rid of the effects of sin and the easy access to the demonic. A true Christian will hardly ever get so full of demonic activity that they are completely taken over, because they will be struggling to resist the temptations that drive the demonic ever deeper. If, however, that Christian gives into every temptation, it makes matters worse, and the sin also allows the demonic to dive ever deeper into the personality and psyche of the man, until he is lost within ‘another’ personality, and until that personality drives him to death. ‘The wages of sin is death….’

      Again, we are not disagreeing with one another… just seeing things slightly differently. I was honoured to share this part of my life with you, friend, and we will continue to be iron for each other! ‘As iron sharpeneth iron, so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend…’

      Blessings!
      Rob

  5. […] Deliverance – Epilogue […]

  6. […] Deliverance – Epilogue […]

  7. […] Deliverance – Epilogue […]

Leave a Reply

