Supernatural Stories: Weather Control!

Elijah was a man just like us. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops. James 5:17-18 (New International Version)

I have had God answer my prayers to stop the rain a couple of times in my life…. When my wife and I were just friends, and we felt as though God was calling us to get into a relationship, I was hesitant because of my previous rejections. After we prayed, I set about to hear what he was saying.

A couple hours later, I was interrupted when the Lord said to me, “My children, go in peace!” Anyone that knows me will know that I’m very forthright, so I said to the Lord, “That’s too vague!” It can be taken either positively “You have my blessing!” or negatively (Part in peace….) So which was it?

As soon as the thought came, the rain started to fall. So I said, in effect, “I’m going to test this – like Gideon did!” So I asked the Lord to make the rain fall faster if he was telling me to get involved with this young lady…. and it did. I couldn’t believe it; I said, “Nah, that’s a fluke!” So I tried again.

“Lord, if you are really telling me this, let the rainfall slow down ever so slightly, enough that I can barely hear it on the roof…” Again, so said, so done.

I was still unconvinced. “That HAS to be another fluke…”

So I sat down and started to eat. By this time, the rain was falling steadily, quite heavily in fact. So I ate quite slowly and methodically and then – trying to ‘catch God off guard’ (yeah right!) I suddenly said, “God! STOP IT!”

And IT STOPPED. God turned off the tap in heaven…. At first rain was pouring down, beating a crescendo on the rooftop. Next – NOTHING.

All I could say is, “Yes sir, God, sir! I don’t need any more proof!” 😆

….

BTW – my wife and I have been married now nearly 8 years!

4 Responses

  1. Awesome story! Haha. God sure knows His business!

  2. Great story. thanks for coming by and dropping off the link.

  3. […] Weather Control – 1 […]

  4. […] Weather Control – 1 […]

Leave a Reply

