Movies Post – Call to Courage!

I know I promised an LoTR post, and there are LoTR references in this first post in the series… yes, this will be a series!  But coming from watching Transformers I had to comment on its impact on me.   So, enjoy – and GO TO THE MOVIES!

I just came from watching Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen… and I am feeling the call to courage!  I’m feeling the deep desire to walk worthy of my calling.  I don’t want to be a slave to my compulsions.  Sam (the hero of the Transformers story) wanted to live a normal life, so when he was called on to save the planet by the leader of the Autobots (the ‘good’ Transformers), he refused.  – he wanted to go to college.

I, too, have wanted to forsake my calling for a “normal” life.  I was tired of living the “good” life, tired of the “moral compass” I had to always be consulting.  I wanted to be the popular one for a change, the one who was desired and admired – most of all – I wanted to NOT be different!

BUT I AM DIFFERENT.

I came out of that movie thinking about the call of God on my life, the knighthood I received supernaturally from Christ – what ‘normal’ boy has that?  I felt a burning desire to get back to where I need to be with the Lord with a desire to be re-instated.

“Put aside the ranger.  Become who you were born to be!”

Words to Aragorn from Elrond, the Elven leader of Rivendell.

Aragorn ran from the call to royalty running through his veins.  As the heir of Isuldur, last King of Gondor, he was to be the next king – but he exiled himself and became a ranger, scorning the throne.

“…. the same blood runs through my veins. The same …. weakness.”

He has disqualified himself because, as a Man, he has the same weakness to power that his ancestor Isuldur could not resist.  He shies away from the throne – his destiny – because of fear.  I have felt the same fear… I’ve felt disqualified by my own weaknesses… I feel that fear, that disqualification right now as I write this post!

I just have to remember:  past failures – his nor his ancestors’ – had not disqualified him from his destiny – and mine have not disqualified me either!!!

“Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their forefathers to give them. 7 Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go.” (Josh. 1:6-7)

What movies inspire you?  Is God speaking?  Who else needs encouragement to be courageous?

13 Responses

  1. Hi Robert – I’m so happy to be reading this post and to hear the excitement in your voice!
    I’ve been reading Deuteronomy lately – the choice set before us – God commanding us to choose and then the promises.
    Never forget who you are!!
    And yes, you are different, but in such a glorious way, that it’s an amazing honour! You are the brother of Jesus – He says it!
    Follow His footsteps – it’ll lead you to the cross, but also to glory!
    Thank you so much for commenting on my poems. I am healing, God is changing me and I’m so happy!
    And it all started here – you are a blessing in my life – however broken, unworthy or whatever you feel! It’s not about feelings – it’s about facts! You’re His precious child.
    God bless you with overwhelming joy as you come to see yourself through Father’s eyes and realize who you really are.
    Jonie

  2. Thanks so much for commenting on my stories and poems – I’m so happy that you like them! I also made you laugh and that pleases me a lot!! God bless you with a wonderful weekend and may you be full of peace and joy as He reigns in you!
    Hugs, Jonie

  3. Linked here from Chrystie’s blog. You make good comments over there so I thought I’d link over. You make me want to see the movie Transormers! WB

    • Thanks Warren… 🙂 Welcome to the Hand of God….

      It has crude aspects to the humour, but the action is PUMPING…. lol Check out the rest of the posts 🙂

      And thank you very much for your comment about my contributions … 🙂

  4. Good stuff, Robert. : ) I love the fire and excitement I hear in your voice. It’s good to hear that. I love that movies speak to you. Why not? If rocks can cry out, why not movies? 😀

    Love you!

    • Love you too, Annie boo…. miss you lots!

      Yeah – God moves in mysterious ways his wonders to perform I’ve been told…. God can speak through anything – a burning bush, a donkey… Morpheus… Leonidas… Gandalf… lololol

      • haha!! True that!

  5. What a great post! It speaks to me a lot too!

    I felt a burning desire to get back to where I need to be with the Lord with a desire to be re-instated.

    I have felt that same desire during all of my struggles. Thanks for speaking my thoughts! Jenny

    • Excellent Jenny! Glad that the post spoke to you… I have a couple more ideas, but I have to stop enjoying “bachelorhood” enough to get back to watching the other movies … I want to go through “the first one again to speak to the concept of fellowship and loyalty – tying in with the Life Together series I was completing before my birthday! Pray for inspiration! 😀

  6. Dear Robert,
    I have not seen the movie Transformers, but I love the fire in your heart as you wrote this post. It’s contaminating.

    Your words build excitement in my heart… thinking about the call of God … burning desire to get back to where I need to be with the Lord … desire to be re-instated…

    Such loaded words, Robert, and I’m feeling that way, too. I always want to move up higher…because the downward pull is ever strong. I feel like I am always swimming against the current.

    Thank you for this post. It somehow reminds me of how Saul disqualified himself because of disobedience, and he lost the anointing. But never knew the difference, he thought his political will and political machinery could run on an old anointing…

    David on the other hand was not without fault but he ran to God, repented, desired to be re-instated…

    God gave him the fresh oil. And God says that the day is coming when He will rebuild David’s fallen tabernacle. 24/7 worship.

    WOW!

    There you go, Robert. You’re on the right track. I am, too!

    Bless your heart.
    Lidj

  7. Praying for loads of inspiration! 🙂
    Thank for commenting on my site – a beautiful prayer! Amen!
    God bless you!
    Jonie

  8. Here is what I realized this past few months. We are called for a very specific purpose. A purpose that needs to be fulfilled. No matter how we desire to live a normal life, the more it will be complicated for us. When God chosen us, He desired to use us for His greater plans.

    So I guess we simply need to obey. Though there are tough times, we need to stay strong and face our calling courageously 🙂

  9. […] People would roll their eyes or groan whenever I was moved by the Holy Spirit to say,  ”As Gandalf / Morpheus / Leonidas said….”  but God works in mysterious ways his wonders to perform, right?  I’ve mentioned this method of hearing God in some of my earlier blog posts. […]

Leave a Reply

