“Remember…”

Have not updated this blog for a long time – I’ve been swamped with REAL LIFE…. and I have kept up with the blogosphere by reading, but have not let you into my life for a while now.

For those of you who are still reading – thanks for sticking with these unplanned hiatuses… I don’t like them any more than you do!  For those who have stumbled onto The Hand of God, welcome!

Now,  onto my post!

I have been trying to spend some more time with the Lord recently in the midst of changes of schedule.  My older son (now 4) has started primary school – can anyone say ‘disruption’?  Between trying to figure out new routes and times, and figuring out whether I could go into work later or not after dropping the younger son (now 2) to nursery… it was a trip just getting out the door on mornings!

I’ve also had more responsibility at work, necessitating ingenious ways of getting on top of my workload – including waking up at 4 in the morning to connect to the office computers so that I can check on the health of the company databases (I’m an IT professional in my other life.)

So –  it was two days ago, and it was about 3:3o AM.  I had just finished doing my early morning database checks, and I felt a nudge from the Holy Spirit.  I wanted to go and pray!  I told my friend Jennifer that I’d talk to her later and signed off chat.  (She’s in South Africa, which is like 9 hours ahead of my time zone in the Caribbean, so it was 3 AM on my side, but she’d probably just gotten to work at 9 AM her time.)

I sat on my couch and I just waited before the Lord.  I prayed a bit, but then eventually went silent –  and I just heard him say, “Zakar.”  Now, as I commented in an earlier post, one meaning for this word is “remember.”  Immediately after I heard that word, my mind was awash with memories of times when I was before large groups of my peers during university days and praying and prophesying over them.  Different times and instances passed through my mind – a couple of times I was standing at the front with long lines of people filing up for me to lay hands on them; times I was prophesying at large student gatherings – all with that central theme of God using me.

For those who don’t know, I’m currently on sabbatical from ministry – seeking God and wanting more of him as I work through some personal issues.  To have images from my past come unbidden to mind – especially these images – spoke volumes to me.  It told me that God has not finished with me yet.  It encouraged me that, as the Word says, “…God’s gifts and call are irrevocable.” (Romans 11:29b)  It made me long for the time where I’m released to minister again… and it made me seek God more for divine encounters with his Holy Spirit!

I then went to Bible Gateway (www.biblegateway.com) and saw that the Verse for the Day was Psalm 143:10, which says, “Teach me to do your will, for you are my God: may your good Spirit lead me on level ground.”  Sounds much like a prayer of my heart, so I decided to read the whole psalm.  I was struck to silence by Ps. 143:5, which says:

I remember the days of long ago;
I meditate on all your works
and consider what your hands have done.

That’s exactly what God was doing before I saw the Scripture… having me remember days of long ago, and making me remember and meditate on the stuff he was doing!  It was an awesome time for me.  God, you are WORTHY OF ALL PRAISE!  I’m so pumped to see where God is leading me…

Now, to stir life back into this connection with the interwebs….. here’s a question!

Has God done something in your life that is worthy of remembering?  Let this be a memorial space…. let us know what you remember! Join us in “meditat[ing] in all [His] works, and consider[ing] what [His] hands have done.”

9 Responses

  1. I feel like I am somewhat on hold now too. With feeling like I need to go to work part-time, I kept wondering if God was done with me writing about Him, or if the future I thought He had possibly promised me about my writing was cancelled or misunderstood.

    But He’s been doing the same thing for me that He has for you, showing me verses that reiterate the old promises. He does still want me to write, and He keeps giving me things to write! And I am so thankful, because I LOVE to write for Him. It gives me such satisfaction.

    I like that verse “God’s gifts and His call are irrevocable”! That’s true! I will have to remember that verse. Maybe I’ll write it on my arm so that I can memorize it.

    The verse that begins “Teach me to do Your will…”, God had led me to many times. We can pray for Him to make His will our greatest desire, and then suddenly it becomes easier to serve Him, even a pleasure.

    That is so neat how God tied together what He had just done with the last verse! Don’t you love it when He speaks to you? Me too! 🙂

    Love, Jen

    • “I like that verse “God’s gifts and His call are irrevocable”! That’s true! I will have to remember that verse. Maybe I’ll write it on my arm so that I can memorize it.”

      If you ever tatoo that on ur arm, send pictures! 🙂

      “That is so neat how God tied together what He had just done with the last verse! Don’t you love it when He speaks to you? Me too! ”

      Yeah I LOVE IT… I’m seeking him to foster our intimacy, so I can hear him even MORE 🙂

  2. I was only here some hours ago wondering what had happened to you and here you are! Great!
    I love your post – I too seem to be waiting and remembering, but not knowing what God wants me to do…
    I pray that our way becomes clear!
    God bless!!
    Jonie

    • Yes Jonie… I pray all our ways become clear!

      “Thy word is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path…”

      Actually – I hear one word concerning what HE’S doing with YOU, not so much what he wants u to do… I hear “HEALING.” Be blessed, my sister! *Hugs*

      • Thanks Robert! Father is truly at work in our lives and it’s so exciting!
        I too feel I’m awakening – I praise God for the joy I hear in your voice!
        God bless you and your family!

  3. Bajan. True it has been a long time. Good to see you are reawakening. The memory is an easy one. 50 years ago, at the age of six, I asked my mother why I couldn’t become a Christian? I asked God to forgive me of my sins and believed He took possession of my soul. He has always been faithful and today I desire to see His hand at work in other people’s lives continuously. Glad to hear my desire is being met as God works in your life. God bless! archie

  4. Yes, Arch… I AM awakening – to a BRAND NEW DAY in CHRIST! Hallelujah! I’m excited to chronicle my divine encounters – your ‘God Spots!’ I was thinking the other day how my blog’s original reason for existence was testimony…. and I think I wanna do more of that! So I’m seeking God for more God Spots along the way! Keep in tune!

  5. Oh my – That is great! There are SO MANY things God has done that are so good to remind myself of. And the more that I am learning about Him every day is just that much more to add to it! He is so good. Never ending. Ah. Good stuff.

  6. […]  (This scene always reminds me of these two posts concerning remembering – read them here and […]

Leave a Reply

