Calling for a Counter Culture

I’ve had a message the Lord gave me about 3 weeks ago that has shaken me up – again.  God has been speaking to me about the fact that he wants to create what he called a ‘counter culture’ of Christianity – which is not the same thing as the religious culture of having Christian music, Christian apparel and stuff… but really, really impacting society by bringing in Kingdom thinking and Kingdom principles.  I emailed it out to a couple friends (okay, about 20) asking for input, and Archie put it straight on his blog – go to it here –  http://wp.me/pwYvw-w.   I am also attempting to attach the document itself here – until I do get it done sucessfully, you can get it from the above link.  (Update: Here is the link to the Counter Culture document itself. Finally figured out how to get it done!)

Disclaimer – For those who read the text of the email on Archie’s website I wasn’t thinking at the time I sent my original email that it would go beyond the Caribbean – at least not yet …. so the original wording is specific to that region.  (“Yeah, right,” I can hear some of you saying. “You didn’t think it would get out?”)  The other thing is that the wording seems to single out my Christian experience at my tertiary institutions, but underneath God is really speaking to the fact that he wants to interact with society in a real way, in a new way.

The other thing I want to say about this you will not get from either the email or the article.  The words God actually told me were, “Counter culture is dangerous!”  Then he showed me that Jesus was into counter culture – he interacted with society where it was at – without the religious body of his day – and the religious people killed him. As the article shows, Jesus’ followers continued to radicalize the faith and were killed as well!
What God was telling me – and what I’m passing on to you – is that this direction is where his heart is, but that whoever decides to seek the new thing God is doing will be at least questioned by the more traditionalistic thinkers … and, in the worst case scenario, you will be persecuted for it.
However, this is what God is saying in this time.  It’s not like God is saying, “This is too dangerous for you.”  He is saying, “This is dangerous – but this is where I am.  Follow me in spite of the danger.
Please comment.  This is not about stats for me. This is about getting God’s word into as much hearts as possible – and finding out what God is doing to extend his Kingdom.
15 Responses

  1. Cool! I like how you explained that bit at the end. 😀

    • I had to figure out how to get God’s words verbertim into the document somehow! Love u!

  2. haha! Don’t blame you! I’m glad you found it!

  3. Ok, I’m gonna need to digest this properly. With my wife. She’s the original counter culturist

    (well, after Jesus you understand…)

    My initial reaction is YES! GO! It’s a narrow road for a reason…

    • (well after Jesus you understand…..)

      Yeah! Of course 🙂

      Go and digest it – it needs internalizing; it’s a lot of info. And let me know what you and your wife think about it. 😉 (I love comments!)

      Oh, and Welcome to the Hand of God – I have to moderate it, so it is your first comment here! Don’t be a lurker!

      • Oh we will. And I think I’ve been here before, but likely under my old email address?

        I always read you in my reader though 😉

  4. Probably, David … honestly I thought it was you, but I wasn’t sure…. so I thought, “Let’s err on the side of caution and welcome him anyway.”

    “I always read you in my reader though 😉 ”

    Really? I always wondered if I was writing into the air when I wasn’t getting comments – you know how it is as a blogger… “Does anybody even read this stuff? 😆

  5. Ok wow wow wow. I am at work and cannot absorb this the way I want and need to. I will say this speaks to me concerning things God has already been speaking to me, also hits on some of my frustration as being a part of a church body. I have experienced so many supernatural experiences outside of the church in small groups of young people as well and go to church expecting the same and nothing. This one of many things I wanted to comment to ( my head is spinning with so much).

    • Hey Tee…give me some of the things you’re spinning with, dear… I want to know!

      Wanna hear some of the supernatural experiences you’ve had, too!

      Print out the document and meditate on it. And let’s keep in contact – I sent it out with the specific desire to connect with people who resonate with what was written…. 🙂

      • Will definitely mediate on this and keep in touch. I feel God is calling this generation out of their dry places but they do not know where or how to begin in Fear of going against what has already been done or is being done in the church. This is also how I feel. I almost feel like I am not being fed. My constant prayer is Lord speak to me in a custom designed relationship, use me in the same way.

        On another note My supernatural experiences have been both amazing and overwhelming to say the least and many times desire to be back on that mountain…

        Just to go back to go back to when I I really saw Jesus for myself, not just knew his name or heard about him from other people. I came to know him.

        About 2 years ago when I was really a babe in Christ and didnt understand anything about the bible, church, etc. Funny part about that is I was raised in the church from a little girl.

        (How is it possible to be raised in the church but still not have an understanding of who Christ was as a young adult….. hmmm ….

        My thoughts on that is not being equipped properly by those before me. Its like a tradition to be made to go to church for show and not for purpose.)

        But anyways,I had this unquenchable thirst for God. At the time I lived with two other people who had fallen away from Christ and was very much worldly as myself. Everyday I would read my bible praying that something would spark in some way, and I would also pray for my roommates as well. I can remember one day we were talking and the conversation of going back to church came up. We ended up going back at the same time.

        From that point forward, we spend soooo much time together in Christ, it was so amazing. We would wake up and go to sleep just worshipping him, talking about him, praising, and singing. Every second of everyday we would speak and email about God.

        One morning we all woke up and gathered in one room. (Just to add my apartment is on the top floor of the multifamily house). We were sitting around and just talking, really posing questions about the world and why God does certain things the way he does, etc. We were sitting in a triangle, I was sitting at the point so to speak. As I attempted to say something I felt something in my stomach, like a tightening and I COULD NOT SPEAK I was making this sound repeatly, I tried to stand up but felt like I was knocked down on my knees after awhile it was painful.

        It was at that point the presence of God Fell over the room.My goodness , writing it now still gets me. My other roommates as well was caught up at this point. We were all over that apartment PRAISING and laid out, he he.

        That was one of many experiences.

  6. I want to add more about Counter Culture after mediating on it.

    • Yeah, please do! And email me too 🙂 I want to make sure we connect!

    • That was an awesome story, Tee… AWESOME. I pray that the Glory of the Lord continue to hover over you with his heavy presence… hey… you know what? As I write this I am reminded of a book ‘Intercessory Prayer’ by Dutch Sheets – he says that the Hebrew word for ‘hover’ or ‘brood’ over something is the same word used in the context of a husband hovering or brooding over his bride … it’s the same way that the Spirit ‘hovered’ over the water in Genesis. I pray that the Holy Spirit hover over you the same way and impregnate your spirit with his life, with his essence. I feel there is more for you! Will email you shortly. Be blessed!

      (How is it possible to be raised in the church but still not have an understanding of who Christ was as a young adult….. hmmm ….

      My thoughts on that is not being equipped properly by those before me. Its like a tradition to be made to go to church for show and not for purpose.)

      You hit the nail right on the head there. So many people go to church out of tradition and not out of purpose… it’s sad, and shows the height from which the church has fallen.

      I feel God is calling this generation out of their dry places but they do not know where or how to begin in Fear of going against what has already been done or is being done in the church.

      Also excellent points. Not knowing how to begin is not the problem – the fear of going against the norm IS. That’s also something rampant in the church.

      Definite prayer points, my dear. Please keep in touch!

  7. bajan. Today is the the day the Lord hath made… and a fine day it is. When God reveals, he requires action. The question for all is what will the action be?

    As you know I have coined my participation in this fresh work of God as a Fresh Connection. I like that. The idea of a complete focus on Jesus in Church is consuming me. I am trying to understand what it means.

    Most important point of understanding, what does it mean to have Jesus ahead of the local Church? In a very simplistic thought, I imagined… Suppose functionally, I replace the pastor, clergy, leader or whatever you call the guy with Jesus.

    Anything functionally I would need of the pastor, I replace with Jesus. Such as: I need someone to tell me what to do in a situation. Instead of asking the pastor, I ask Jesus. I need to be healed. Instead of asking the pastor, I ask Jesus. Get it?

    So then I came to this point. What would the church look like without a pastor or a religion? Answer: Jesus and a Church with a capital “C”.

    God bless. Not to hijaak your blog, but you can continue to follow a Texan’s line of thought at Fresh Connection. It is amazing you and I are running a very similar race, bajanpoet. http://freshc.org

    • bajan. Today is the the day the Lord hath made… and a fine day it is. When God reveals, he requires action. The question for all is what will the action be?

      Arch .. you hit the proverbial nail on the head. This article was in response to one of my church leader’s personal conviction that it was time for he and his wife who were stationed in Barbados for over 10 years to expand their influence throughout the Caribbean. The initial response concerning his vision and call is to link up with about 200 young people in the Caribbean who are willing to seek God for His ‘new thing.’

      Of course, with the publication of this article on the internet it is now broader than that. What is is the action for us now? Expanded influence and kingdom expansion – how is that going to work out? More questions than answers at this point, but your own foray into this with the Fresh Connections network is a step in the right direction, I think….

      “So then I came to this point. What would the church look like without a pastor or a religion? Answer: Jesus and a Church with a capital “C”.”

      Agreed. Let’s see how we can do that in practice!

      “God bless. Not to hijaak your blog, but you can continue to follow a Texan’s line of thought at Fresh Connection. It is amazing you and I are running a very similar race, bajanpoet. http://freshc.org

      Hey – hijack all you want, buddy – I missed you too much conversing here! It’s amazing, yeah – but we are all linked together in the Spirit, so we’ve connected at a Spirit level. 🙂 I’m glad what I wrote has struck a similar chord with you… and others… let’s me know I’m not falling off the deep end… 😆

      I still have your questionnaire to fill out – will get to that pretty soon 🙂 Later, bro!

Leave a Reply

