Thoughts on Prophecy

I’ve taken my very long comment on my earlier post and decided to make it a post on its own. To backtrack – I asked a question on my very first poll about if God ever revealed his destiny to you (my loyal readers, and even those who just happened by!)  I then realized that most people had their destiny revealed via someone having a prophecy for them. In answer to one of my commenters, I started expounding on prophecy, so I decided to put it in its own post – and here we are!

So, to the question of whether prophecy is real or not… here’s a Scripture to verify what I’m saying (that I believe that it is not only real, but important for our lives):

Proverbs 29:18 (Amplified Bible)

18Where there is no vision [no redemptive revelation of God], the people perish; but he who keeps the law [of God, which includes that of man]–blessed (happy, fortunate, and enviable) is he.

Where there is no prophetic revelation the people perish…. When I realized that this is what this verse said, as I usually hear it in the KJV (“Where there is no vision, the people perish….”) this blew my MIND!!!!

Of course, God also says in his word…

1 Thessalonians 5:20 (New International Version)

20do not treat prophecies with contempt.

So let’s press in for the prophetic… Even Jesus said

Luke 4:4 (Amplified Bible)

4And Jesus replied to him, It is written, Man shall not live and be sustained by (on) bread alone [a]but by every word and expression of God.(A)

And that word “WORD” in the above passage is “RHEMA”…

Digging into this word we see it means

Outline of Biblical Usage
1) that which is or has been uttered by the living voice , thing spoken, word
a) any sound produced by the voice and having definite meaning
b) speech, discourse
1) what one has said
c) a series of words joined together into a sentence (a declaration of one’s mind made in words)
1) an utterance
2) a saying of any sort as a message, a narrative
a) concerning some occurrence
2) subject matter of speech, thing spoken of
a) so far forth as it is a matter of narration
b) so far as it is a matter of command
c) a matter of dispute, case at law

Do you see it? Rhema – The LIVING VOICE…. WOW…  That is so deep….

How important is the prophetic voice to you? Do you hear the Living Voice for yourself?

3 Responses

  1. […] I post about some of it on my blog: Thoughts on Prophecy […]

  2. I’ve said it before, Rob, that I always enjoy your clear and insightful teaching. I started looking up verses, and wondered why, among Paul’s instructions to the Thessalonians, he included 5:20. Makes me think somebody was indeed despising the prophets!

    My Life Application Study Bible says, we should test everything, checking the prophets words against the Bible. We are on dangerous ground if we scoff at a person who speaks the truth.

    Interesting… So even back in Bible times people were a little freaked out and suspicious.

    About Proverbs 29… about “no vision’. I think visions and prophecies can come in such different ways today than back then. Like you teaching me via a blog on the internet. Is it harder to discern a true prophet these days?

    • Prophetic people do freak you out sometimes. Goes with our job description 🙂 In the Old Testament, you had guys who did some weird stuff – one guy walked around naked for 3 and a half years I think it was – all to make a point to the Israelites. Hosea married Gomer, a prostitute, under God’s direction, to show the Israelites that they were whoring after other gods…. even John the Baptist must have been strange with his camel hair tunic and eating locust appetizers with honey glaze….

      And you are right – God uses every opportunity to spread his word … including the wonder of the internet! Does this make it more difficult to discern the true? On one hand it would, because you can’t necessarily be sure what you are seeing is real or a camera trick, but on the other, remember what I said: you know the false because you handle the truth. So, instead of worrying, I would just ask God, “What do you think? Show me the truth!”

      I have started going on to sites that seemed legit or even were legit at one point, but at some time I didn’t feel right anymore and I stopped. There was one site that I used to frequent a LOT because it was all about prophecy… there even were dream boards where you could post your dreams and the recognized prophetic people would pray and then post what God said concerning the dreams online. I was there for a while and then felt to not connect anymore – and later on I realized that the leader had elevated himself to ‘apostle’ and was giving tips about getting wealth. I am not one to judge that he was not hearing God or whatever, but I decided that I didn’t feel comfortable and I stopped. Let God be your guide 🙂

Leave a Reply

