Personal Devotions Series: Psalm 91:9-12

9 If you make the Most High your dwelling—

even the LORD, who is my refuge-

10 then no harm will befall you,
no disaster will come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;

12 they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

(Psalm 91:9-12)

May only be a ‘little’ thing, but it just hit me what was wrong with the Tempter’s use of Scripture in Jesus’ temptation.  He was  taking it out of context and claiming the promise without meeting the condition – and maybe even claiming the promise in a wrong way, too.  Jump off a building and expect angels to catch you so that you float smoothly to the ground???? That’s foolhardy, at least.  The law of gravity supersedes rash actions.  That’s why Jesus retorts with, “Do not put the Lord your God to the test.”

3 Responses

  1. I love the thought of angels being about. I understand they actually learn from us. Interesting. I believe there are likely angels with different functions or occupations. Likely, there are angels who are particularly skillful at battle. Maybe others that are every watching and guarding. Maybe others that like a good joke. I just find the whole idea of angelic protection comforting!
    archie

    • Yeah I believe in Warrior angels, guardian angels, messenger angels… all of whom I see evidenced in Scriptures. Yeah it’s a fascinating subject!

  2. […] your work in my life, so that I will be able to get your will done through me.  Thank you for your hiding place! […]

Leave a Reply

