Personal Devotions – Acts, Call to Repentance and Prophetic Words

Today I spent about an hour reading a couple chapters in the Acts of the Apostles – just being swamped with how Paul and the others were directed by the Holy Spirit, protected and sustained by Him and were able to proclaim the Message of the Way to the Gentiles.   I thought of my own ministry, and realized that – in my current state – I couldn’t even raise my head far less be bold about God’s message!

I had shut the Bible and suddenly opened it up again on a whim – and my eyes fell on this:

2 Corinthians 12:19-21

19Have you been thinking all along that we have been defending ourselves to you? We have been speaking in the sight of God as those in Christ; and everything we do, dear friends, is for your strengthening. 20For I am afraid that when I come I may not find you as I want you to be, and you may not find me as you want me to be. I fear that there may be quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, factions, slander, gossip, arrogance and disorder. 21I am afraid that when I come again my God will humble me before you, and I will be grieved over many who have sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual sin and debauchery in which they have indulged.

The last two verses hit me between the eyes – I thought of all those who would be ‘grieved’ over my recent actions …. and I repented right there before God.  I can’t let them, myself, or God down any more.  I want to live right.  I want to pursue righeousness…. no – as an act of my will … I AM pursuing righteousness as of right now, God helping me!

A friend of mine sent me this – she is the recipient of prophetic words through this sister Marsha Burns, and this quote was really applicable to my situation:

SMALL STRAWS IN A SOFT WIND by Marsha Burns — Dec. 22, 2009:

Beloved, I have already brought warnings to you to guard your heart with all diligence. Be aware that the enemy is roaring around, looking for those who will get in his most dangerous territory through allowing their emotions to run wildGuard your thoughts and emotions, and refuse to allow the devil to bring discouragement, disappointment and depression. Rise up and embrace My joy, says the Lord, and be strengthened in your inner man. Draw near to me, and place your hope in My love for you. Resist the devil, for there is no temptation too great for you to overcome.
1 Corinthians 10:13 No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.
NEW RELEASES!

The part that is  underlined really struck out to my friend – and stuck out to me as well.  We both know of situations in our lives where we have let our emotions run wild and that Satan is roaring around in our lives. The Scripture in 1 Cor 10:13 also spoke to both of us – no temptation has befallen us beyond our capacity to handle it! God has always provided a way of escape!

We were discussing that as it relates to our own situations and encouraging ourselves to take Christ at his word and not continue in a life of sin and compromise.

And then – another prophetic word – this time from MY email.  Kim Clement – one of the prophetic voices that I follow by reading their newsletters – said in his last publication:  “Betrayal has been the order of the day and yet I see a noose with betrayal hanging on it. What am I sensing? RESURRECTION!”

He continues to say, in part –

A few weeks ago, while under one of the most unusual anointings I’ve ever experienced, I was “taken” for a few moments to the tomb of Christ. I literally saw His resurrection through the eyes of Mary. It was one of the most impacting moments of my ministry life, but it was far more than just an experience, it was a message. I have no doubt that Jesus rose from the dead; it’s a historical fact, but that night, I believed it from the perspective of someone who was physically there in the moment and who saw it with their own eyes. It’s difficult to explain, but everything changed for me after that. For days and even weeks now, I would suddenly find myself deeply moved to tears and saying, “He has risen.” I went to prayer this morning and spoke to God about this. Why am I so emotional about this all of a sudden? What is the message? I heard Him so simply say, “Resurrection.” Then it dawned on me; Ecclesiastes 3:1, “There is a time for everything and a season for every purpose under Heaven; A time to be born and a time to die…a time to PLANT and a time to reap…”

He senses a season of resurrection!  (That’s great – I felt like I was in the valley of the shadow of death just recently….)  He continues –

I was reminded of the prophet Elisha who had died and was buried in a tomb. During that time, Israel was constantly being raided by Moabites and while the Israelites were busy burying a man, they suddenly saw a band of raiders, so they threw the man’s body into Elisha’s tomb. When the body touched Elisha’s bones, the man came to life and stood up on his feet. Can you imagine that? God spoke to me about the season we are entering and simply said, “Resurrection.”

So … I’m holding on to THOSE WORDS WITH BOTH HANDS.  I crave for the season of not just restoration but of resurrection! I am calling for it now, with the faith of the desperate, the cry of one at the point of death…. JESUS…. RESURRECT ME!!!!!!!!!!!!

UPDATE: I am posting the link of one of my friends’ websites to a very appropriate poem – may we call call on God’s Mercy! (Thanks, Jonie!)

6 Responses

  1. Dear Robert, I am so touched by your post and your heartfelt cry to Jesus. This is the only way forward. To trust and ask and then obey. Feelings and emotions are not always reliable, but the Word of our Lord always is, whatever we feel and want and desire. And thankfully, there is always a way forward, always forgiveness and a new start with God.
    May these days be very special for you and your family, as you move forward together.
    Thanks so much for linking to my poem/prayer “Mercy”. It is truly an amazing exchange that we are offered – all our darkness for His light. It is up to us to let go and receive.
    May our Father bless you and guide you. May you both know the overwhelming joy of new beginnings.
    Jonie

    • Trusting and obeying. That’s the truth.

      Your poem/prayer was SO…..powerful… reading it aloud did something in the Spirit, I am convinced. After reading it I FELT the Spirit move.

      Once again…. thank you.

  2. God wants the very best for you, your bride and children. You will find it at the feet of Jesus. Will pray for God’s abundance on your life. Be faithful. Plot your course to the cross. God bless. Your Texas bud.

  3. […] devotions, Mary, Martha, Lazarus, John 11:1-44 trackback I have been meditating and praying since yesterday’s blog post on the theme of resurrection.  Today I have been reading John 11:1-44 – the death and […]

  4. […] Thoughts on Resurrection…. March 28, 2010 Posted by bajanpoet in Christianity, personal, pondering. Tags: Easter, Holy Week, Passion of the Christ, resurrection, thoughts trackback Just finished a prayer time with a guy from one of the online communities I have connected with… and after our prayer, where I confessed some sin issues and struggles and had him pray with and for me – I felt the Lord remind me of the word “Resurrection” that he spoke to me in December. […]

  5. […]  You can read about some what has been going on in a couple places:  here and here and here and here; you can also get a better picture of my emotional state currently by reading up on the […]

Leave a Reply

