Personal Devotions: RESURRECTION!

I have been meditating and praying since yesterday’s blog post on the theme of resurrection.  Today I have been reading John 11:1-44 – the death and resurrection of Lazarus.

Now most of us know the story – Lazarus was the brother of Mary and Martha, and it says that this Mary is the same one who fell before Jesus’ feet and anointed them with perfume and wiped them with her hair (verse 2).  Jesus heard that Lazarus was sick, but yet waited two more days before he set off.  When his disciples didn’t understand what he said about Lazarus he spoke plainly (“14So then he told them plainly, “Lazarus is dead, 15and for your sake I am glad I was not there, so that you may believe. But let us go to him.”)  Why did he wait? So we may believe….

So Jesus goes and comforts the sisters, who both confront him – “If you were here our brother wouldn’t have died.”   He says to Martha (vs 25-26)

25Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; 26and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

That struck me  – “I am the resurrection and the life.”  Do I believe this?????  Oh yes.

When he saw Mary grieving he was moved to compassion, and he too wept.  Did he weep while others were grieving for me? Did he grieve as the others were agonizing over my inability to see while blinded by my own sins and fleshly lusts?

But he did not only grieve.  Jesus ACTED.

38Jesus, once more deeply moved, came to the tomb. It was a cave with a stone laid across the entrance. 39“Take away the stone,” he said.
“But, Lord,” said Martha, the sister of the dead man, “by this time there is a bad odor, for he has been there four days.”

He was moved by compassion and went to the tomb.  I have told others that I have realized that whenever Jesus is moved with compassion – miracles happen! The tomb represented death – and the fact that Lazarus was in the tomb already four days and had started to decay.  I see that in my own situation, those who grieved for me must have thought I was probably too far gone.  I certainly thought certain things were too far gone – my at-home relationships, my desires; even now I see that certain things have been more deeply impacted than I thought by my actions.  Maybe some of  my relationships have started to stink, too….  but Jesus is moved with compassion for me!

40Then Jesus said, “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?”

Many who have believed have seen the Glory of God through my change of heart, and I also believe that what Jesus said earlier in this passage ( “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” (v4)) will hold true for the things that seem dead or dying because of being so long in proximity to the stench of sin.  I believe.

41So they took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. 42I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.

Those who have been praying and seeking God have been asking for the blinders to be taken off my eyes, so that I can see the depravity of sin that I have fallen into.  Before the dead man can be resurrected, the boulder has to be removed – the thing blocking him in must be heaved out of the way.  The word says that the god of this age has blinded those who are still in sin; the blocks which make the inside dark must be removed for the Light to be let in.

43When he had said this, Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!”

The declaration of Jesus!  The Word declared into a dead situation released the resurrection!  I am like Lazarus, having life again after a period of death.  I have been declaring resurrection into my dead and dying situations ever since yesterday.  I call life to every dead and or dying situation as it has been affected by the sin I was in.  I speak life to every relationship, every physical area, my emotional and spiritual life!

44The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face.   Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”

Not only am I a living testimony of being myself resurrected from the death grip of sin, but I am also in the process of having the grave clothes taken off.  But I’m alive!  Praise GOD!


5 Responses

  1. I like this… “Why did he wait? So we may believe….” Speaks of a need for patience as God’s timing becomes perfect. I personally have taken a 1st step inviting people to the 1st meeting of Fresh Connections. No one may come. That’s ok. I got out of the boat. It may be that my stepping out of the boat was the step of faith to release Jesus to do what He wants to do. Now I will wait in obedience as the perfection of time arrives.

    In your faithfulness and obedience, you too may have to be patient. God can work immediately, but apparently He waits that we may believe…. God bless~

    • Patience…. blech lolol

      Seriously … got a lot from looking at that passage today.

      I’m with you egging u on as you start to walk on the water 🙂 Getting out of the boat is your part – balancing on the waves is His! 🙂

      Love u bro!

  2. Amen and hallelujah!

    • Couldn’t have said it better myself 😉 Love ya, hon!

  3. […] and struggles and had him pray with and for me – I felt the Lord remind me of the word “Resurrection” that he spoke to me in […]

Leave a Reply

