Personal Devotions: Sobering Word

37“Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; 38and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.  (Matt 27:37-39)

Sobering words.   Anyone who loves father or mother…. son or daughter… more than God is not worthy of him. How easy is it to love other things more than God?  To what do I owe my allegiance?  Anyone who does not take cross and follow Christ is not worthy of him. What does that mean?  How do I take up my cross?  Do I want to take up my cross to follow him?

I have decided to follow Jesus.  Behind my failures and successes, behind every time I mess up, behind any time I share a wonderful powerful testimony of God’s glory – there lies a heart that is sold out for God.

But yet – being sold out for God still means little if I don’t choose to be a disciple.  NO MATTER THE COST.

On Sunday I am sure I heard in my heart – I think I was coming out of a dream – the term ‘Band of Brothers.”  I had no reference point for the term, so I just left it alone, let it simmer in its own juices, as it were.

A couple of days ago, I found myself surfing and found this website – the Band of Brothers Ministry.  One of their tenets is to covenant among the men of the Body of Christ – a band of brothers – to intentionally be more like Jesus, a disciple.   The covenant on their About page is as follows:

I will surrender my all to God – no matter the cost – so that I can become more like Jesus Christ – my brother and King.  I will seek out a band of brothers, for whose lives and legacies I will fight, so that together we can fulfill our mission to know, love and glorify God our Father.

This covenant has resonated with me.  I WILL SURRENDER MY ALL to GOD – NO MATTER THE COST.

This is my prayer.


One Response

  1. […] Simba, The Lion King, whatever the cost, zakar trackback This post should really have come before the last Personal Devotions post, but busyness made it sleep in my drafts folder for weeks.  If I don’t work on it now, […]

Leave a Reply

