More Divine Connections!

I’ve been thinking a lot about divine connections – about meetings orchestrated by the Spirit of God.  You know …. where one or the other person was in the right place at the right time to meet the right person?

Think about Moses.  His mother hid him away for as long as she could. and when she couldn’t hide him any more, she built a basket of bullrushes and placed her baby in it.  I’m not sure she knew what was going to happen next – but the only person who could probably have kept her baby alive happened to come to bathe – Pharaoh’s daughter!  Not only that, but the princess hired the baby’s mother to take care of him!  Think about that – being paid to take care of your own child…. interesting prospect…. (Exodus 2:1-10)

In Genesis 24, God orchestrated the meeting between Abraham’s servant and Rebekah, where Abraham made his servant swear that he would not find a wife for his son Isaac.  The servant prayed, and before he could finish praying, Rebekah turned up – who would eventually accept the proposal and agree to get married to a man she’d never met.  (Genesis 24:15-21, 26, 50)

In the New Testament, Jesus meeting the Samaritan woman (John 4) was also a divine connection,  as would be Phillip being sent to the Ethiopian eunuch – not to mention being transported somewhere else afterwards!  (Acts 8:26-40)

I’ve been thinking about the divine connections the Lord has orchestrated in my own life.  Friends of mine who I have not yet seen in the flesh, but who have, over time, proven loyalty, dedication and have become family.

There have been people I have met online through the blogosphere who have stood by me through my recent marital struggles and have been there to encourage and pray and support. Some of those people I have met I would willingly do anything for because their level of support for me has gone beyond the call of duty.  I have even met a couple people who loved me enough to let our communication end for our mutual benefit – to those people (you know who you are, if you ever read this) I owe a huge set of gratitude and love, because they took quite practically the Scripture injunction to cut off the hand that causes you to sin.  Their willingness to put to death something that started well for the sake of their knowledge of where God was taking me still humbles me.

Now God is allowing more divine connections.  I’m excited to see where he is going.  Through the internet, God is linking his entire body in such a way that people all over the world can band together and pray for issues in a short space of time.  I am enthralled to see how God has joined my heart to South Africa, Minnesota, Ohio, Texas and Canada, among others…  all these people who have prayed and are praying for me, and to whom I owe my life. God has even done some binding of hearts to others here at home in Barbados – people who definitely were meant to be in my life for the long haul.  I’m just ready to see where God goes with this!

I pray for everyone reading this… I pray that divine encounters be released to you, and that God connects you to others according to his divine plan!

Bajan Tidbit – The national dish of Barbados is cou-cou and flying fish.  Cou cou looks something like mashed potatoes, but is made traditionally from corn meal, and may contain okra slush.  Most Bajans like their flying fish breaded (covered in bread crumbs) and fried.  Go here for some more details!

2 Responses

  1. Thanks, Rob!! I aprreciate (and have appreciated ) you SO much. You were there through a very instrumental time in my life … for all of my ‘fall ‘ season, in fact. Last year, my fall season was from January to June–exactly the time that you played such a key role in my life. Why my ‘winter’ looked so different, I don’t know–God does. The fact that your presence lined up so well with my seasons actually tells me that both of us were exactly in the right place at the right time on that one. I have valued your prayers SO much … and one day we will get to see the battles we fought on a giant television screen in heaven. 😀 Popped popcorn, chatting back and forth and quoting it all with the best of them. Thanks for standing with me in battle, Armour-Bearer. It is an honor to serve with you.

    • I wish I had the words to say how much you mean to me, Annie… I love you – SO MUCH…..

      The fact that your presence lined up so well with my seasons actually tells me that both of us were exactly in the right place at the right time on that one.

      You know I was thinking about you when I wrote this post! 🙂

      I have valued your prayers SO much … and one day we will get to see the battles we fought on a giant television screen in heaven. Popped popcorn, chatting back and forth and quoting it all with the best of them.

      I’m SO looking forward to that! Popcorn, Coke and a cinema screen …. ahhh! Looking to link arms with you again to rout the enemy! One can put 1,000 to flight….. *grin*

      Thanks for standing with me in battle, Armour-Bearer. It is an honor to serve with you.

      No… the honour is ALL mine. God blessed me when we met, Annie Kruse….

Leave a Reply

