Personal Devotions – Rest

29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.

30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;

31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.
(Isa 40:29-31 NIV)

*******************************************************************

This post is overdue…. sorry about that 🙂  You can see why I needed the rest – this post was sitting in my Drafts folder unfinished (un-started – just the title!)  for a week before I could get to it….

*******************************************************************

I have been pondering these verses about rest for a little while now.  Isaiah 40:31 was given to me prophetically by one of my best friends and chief intercessors, who told me that God wanted me to rest.  I was known to others and to myself as prophet, encourager, listener, advisor, friend, confidant, minister… all these things … for so long – that being told I needed to stop them for a time of sabbatical threw me into a tail spin.  I had an identity crisis.

It was hard to unplug, hard to stop the good things like praying for people, prophesying, seeing God’s hand in deliverance even over the internet… it still is hard.  But I’m trying to make it good.  I’m trying to obey the word of the Lord, and work Isa 40:31 into my life.  “They that wait on the Lord shall renew their strength….” (KJV)   Once you wait your strength shall be renewed. That’s a promise.  So I’m being deliberate…..

So deliberate, in fact, that for a time, I’m on vacation.  It’s nice not to have the constant demands of husband and father for a bit.  I can just be.  I didn’t even have to rush and get up to cook breakfast like I usually do – I came down to my own father having finished breakfast, rather than having to do it myself! (Hallelujah chorus in background!)

So, here I am.  Trying to get rest.  Wondering whether I should feel guilty for feeling so free… and just wanting to rest, not only from responsibility, but learning how to rest in God as well.

Father God, show me how to enter your rest.  Help me to stop striving. Help me to not work, but take this time as a Sabbath time, holy unto you.  Help me to come back refreshed, but also with a plan as to how to move forward.  Speak to me during this time, so that it will not have been a time to just goof off, but that I would seriously hear what you are saying to me during this quiet time.  I ask that for those of us who read here, that you extend your rest to them as well.  Thinking about my friends who are battle weary,  frustrated or even just weary ( my last convo with Annie – love you little sis!) and I ask for rest for them too!  Thank you Lord!  AMEN.

15 Responses

  1. “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.” i love that passage!

    trusting Him for a true selah for you right now as you focus on Him.

    and i’m grateful for your prayers for rest for me too! Lord knows, i need it!

    • Welcome to the Hand of God, Alece… you are an honoured guest here…. no, scratch that. Family members aren’t visitors! grin You’re my sister… and you can come and comment all you want!

      I know you need the rest; so grateful to call you friend… we will seek the selah of the Lord together….

  2. Be encouraged Robert! Here is a new perspective for you… are you resting from your own works? Check Hebrews 2. There remaineth a rest to the people of God. I liken it to floating in the sea. When you are seabathing it is so nice to just lie on one’s back in calm waters and rest… and the best way to do this is simply to let go and trust the sea to hold you up… to relax the muscles of the flesh. Admittedly it takes some practice but when striving ceases and one is lying still on the water just enjoying the warmth of the sun it is great. Similarly it is time for you to rest back in the sea of grace and look up at the Son and get some Sonbathing in!

    I was being poetic but also being very serious… did you read the sobering testimony I sent you yesterday of the minister (Howard Pittman) who died and went before the Lord and how God told him just what He, God, thought of his “good works”? That bit moved me to tears. There is a saying that goes “one life to live and soon that will be past… only what is done for Jesus will last…” and I would amend that to be “only what is done OF Jesus will last.” Food for thought.. but I don’t want to get too heavy this morning… just thought I would encourage you to rest in the Lord. Praise God Pittman was brought back to life and is a changed man. Pray for an encounter with the Lord… we all (myself included) need you back with renewed fire… but do not rush the process. Even Jesus went apart into the wilderness in the middle of His ministry to rest and pray (luke 5:16).

    May the Lord renew your strength as you wait upon Him.

  3. Robert,

    Not sure if you got my last comment since I don’t see it on this page after trying to upload it… but I was encouraging you to rest in the Lord… and reminding you that it is like seabathing… lying on one’s back in the sea of grace… looking up at the sun / Son… striving ceases in the flesh and one is borne up only on grace. Hebrews 2, Luke 5:16 came to mind. Anyway am reposting this abbreviated version in case the last comment did not upload. Hope you got my email also re Rev Pittman’s testimony (he was brought back from the dead) – read what God said re the Rev’s life… brought me to tears. Later…

    P.

  4. enjoy your rest and may you sense God’s presence as you embrace this time of sabbath 🙂

  5. My Brother,
    I pray that you will be refueled and ready to go, not too fast, but in a timely manner that you will be TRULY ready ro resume your life serving God, and leading your wife and family. We all have stumbled my brother, we have all lost our path, but His promise of renewal and His everlasting covenant are something we really can count on. The Holy Spirit lives within you, just follow his lead. God be with you always, brother!
    JFT

  6. Robert,
    What you are going through seems to be similar to what I recently went through and I must share it with you. I was a successful career-minded person living with my family in the Middle East when God directed us to move here to Canada. In faith, we accepted and moved. 6 months we spent without work and living on resources God kindly provided and through that time, Isa. 40:31 was the verse I was given. Waiting, waiting, waiting and it seemed like an eternity but finally when I found work, it was beyond perfect. Only the Lord could’ve orchestrated what I presently have for work in every sense. The 6 months I spent at home with my family was by far my best vacation ever and the 4 of us are now much closer to each other and to the Lord thanks to this break. I hope you hear what I am saying and I pray that you will ENJOY every moment of your break and make the most of it. Don’t be guilty for enjoying it because this is one from above!! God bless you brother and I will keep you and your family in prayer.
    Vineet

    • Thank you!!!!! I do hear what you’re saying and I do want to make the most of it. Thank you so much for praying for us. I feel your story, brother…. and I recognize the obedience necessary to open up God’s favour….

      Thank you so much!!!!

  7. Hey my brother, just enjoy resting in HIm. If we continue to drive our car without stopping to refuel, the car would cease to move.
    So we also need to take time out in God’s presence to recharge or top up our spiritual engine with the sweet fragrance of HIs presence.

    Jehovah Shama, I pray for YOUR presence to overshadow Rob right now.
    Holy Spirit, draw him close to you. I pray your annointing to shoot Rob into a place in You. Give Him rest abundantly and as he comes over the other side, may he hear your voice with a deeper clarity and deeper understanding of your direction. Bless his family as well and cover them with your Armour. In Jesus name.

  8. Thank you! Rest is SO good. For me … He has been to me so careful … like taking care of your wife when she’s sick and can’t get off the couch. That’s what He’s been for me. He doesn’t rush me or push me; in fact He seems to want me to rest even more than I do–and that’s saying something! I’m so glad He’s tender with us and remembers that we get tired.

    So valuable to slow down and rest. I’m glad you’re taking the time for it, my friend.

Leave a comment