Personal Devotions: Sonship

Welcome to the first Personal Devotions post for 2011!

I have started to use Youversion on my Blackberry to get back into reading the Word.  Last year I was interacting with the Scripture using the Daily Audio Bible website and community, but in November I couldn’t keep up the momentum… it petered out.  So although I almost made it, I didn’t finish reading the entire Bible last year.  It was becoming a lot to take in all at once – Brian reads from the Old Testament, the New Testament, the Psalms and the Proverbs every single day – as well as gives his own inspired commentary on what was read.  Then he would pray, and there was also be a section where people from the community could call in and ask for prayer, pray for others in the community or give a praise report.

It was  great. But it was a lot to take in as the year progressed and my battle with depression deepened.   So this year, on the advice of a few good friends, I have endeavoured to look for another strategic Bible plan that will ease me back into the reading of the Word.

I had downloaded the Youversion app on my Blackberry for a while, but hadn’t really used it much until I was challenged to read the Word more – specifically the Psalms.  I decided that I would find a short Bible plan using the smartphone.  And this is day two.  I’m reading a Psalm and a Proverb.  that’s’ it.

But today I heard God speak through his word in a way that I have not heard in a while.  I was arrested by Psalm 2:7

I will proclaim the LORD’s decree:

He said to me, “You are my son;
today I have become your father.

I heard him: YOU ARE MY SON.  I cried out to him, “I have not felt like your son in ages!”  But in spite of what I feel or don’t, his word still rings true to my heart today.

This Scripture naturally makes me think of Romans 8:15 as well

15 The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship.[a] And by him we cry, Abba,[b] Father.”

And looking at Proverbs 2, I was also arrested by the beginning two words: “My son”  The entire chapter spoke to me, but I am picking out the part that I really feel impressed on my heart right now.

1 My son, if you accept my words
and store up my commands within you,
2 turning your ear to wisdom
and applying your heart to understanding—
3 indeed, if you call out for insight
and cry aloud for understanding,
4 and if you look for it as for silver
and search for it as for hidden treasure,
5 then you will understand the fear of the LORD
and find the knowledge of God.
6 For the LORD gives wisdom;
from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.
7 He holds success in store for the upright,
he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless,
8 for he guards the course of the just
and protects the way of his faithful ones.

I have had so many depressed moods, so much negativity, so much pain – that focusing on the positive was a welcome change.  So here is my devotion for today.

Lord, I have not felt like your son for ages. I can say like the Prodigal, “I am not worthy to be called your son.” But you call me son anyway. Even if I fail.  Even if I fall. Even if I decide that I am still feeling rebellious… all of this time you still call me son, and still seek my heart turning back to you. I ask that you will acknowledge my baby steps, and help me to increase my momentum. Thank you Jesus. AMEN

7 Responses

  1. A big AMEN to a big step forward!
    And big hugs, Jonie 🙂

  2. It sounds like you have been harder on Rob than He has. Maybe?

    I struggle with how/when/where to read my Bible, too. Makes me feel like a Pharisee when I don’t do it “just right”.

    My new challenge is to get really comfortable reading from the Kind James. So even if I don’t feel like I’m getting it, I keep reading anyway. Any tips?

    • “It sounds like you have been harder on Rob than He has. Maybe?”

      Who’s been hard on me, hon?

      “My new challenge is to get really comfortable reading from the Kind James. So even if I don’t feel like I’m getting it, I keep reading anyway. Any tips?”

      Why keep using the King James if you feel uncomfortable? Use an easier version – they’re still valid! I like NIV and NLT myself! 🙂

  3. Oooops. KING James…. although I’m sure he was kind, too… 😀

  4. “But today I heard God speak through his word in a way that I have not heard in a while. I was arrested by Psalm 2:7”

    I know what depression is like. I also know what it is like to have a long dry spell when you long to hear Him speak. He is always near and always loving, and there is some comfort in that, but it just can’t compare with that breathtaking moment when you really “hear” the Lord speak. I will be praying for more of these moments…that your joy would be restored.

Leave a comment