One Word 2011

In an earlier post I mentioned my friend Alece who shared her concept of focusing on one word as the guiding post for the entire year, rather than coming up with a laundry list of New Year’s resolutions.  Last year her word was RISK, mine was RESURRECTION.  This year, she chose to LOOK more to find Christ in even the mundane things, I have had a personally rough year and have chosen to move forward, gaining MOMENTUM along the way.

As I was perusing my Facebook page just now, I realized that this concept has been extended to Facebook!  Alece has created a One Word 2011 page at  http://www.facebook.com/pages/One-Word-2011/182416081777208?v=wall.

This concept seems to be taking off! It seems so much easier to focus on one word rather than a list of ‘do’s and don’ts’.  I can attest to the fact that ‘resurrection‘ has yet to manifest itself in my life in a full way – but you can’t resurrect something until it is dead.  In fact, I would say that there’s been a lot of death in my life recently – emotionally, relationally, even spiritually – but I would also say that that is the reason I chose my word for this year as MOMENTUM.  In order to get the resurrection I seek, I have to find a way forward; I may start with baby steps, but intend to pick up the pace as I continue.

So here’s my plug for this concept – Even as Alece exclaims “Holy Crap!” at the explosion around this concept – I’m doing my part to spread the word!

So come along! Focus on One Word tis year… and be revolutionized by God!

4 Responses

  1. I loved Alice’s concept when I read it the first time, and have thought about it alot since I announced my word as “contentment”.

    But now I’m leaning toward “know”. Like Psalm 46:10, Be still and know that I am God. I “know’ lots of things in the Bible, and through experience, and from other Believers, but I never stop and stand on what I, Linda, KNOW, about my Savior.

    If I did, maybe contentment would come naturally?

  2. and i’m still thinking “holy crap!” 😉

    love seeing God work.

  3. i think my word is listen… listen to God… listen to myself… listen to others… and, in response the all of the listening i will be doing this year… i shall also do 🙂

Leave a comment